No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
TBA
Denison
at Findlay
in Toledo, Ohio
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
10:00 AM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
10:00 AM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red shuts out Battling Bishops

Casey Cempre won his 10th singles match of the season at OWU.
Casey Cempre won his 10th singles match of the season at OWU.

The Denison men's tennis team picked up its second shutout of the season following a 9-0 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Tuesday in Delaware, Ohio.

The Big Red outscored OWU 24-2 en route to sweeping doubles play.  Denison won the top two flights via 8-1 scores, while pitching a shutout at No. 3 doubles.  Andrew Marczak and Casey Cempre defeated Richie Karban and John Rissell at first doubles, while Grant Veltman, the reigning North Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Week, and Shankar Rajupet topped Will Thieman and Conor Breen at the second flights.  At No. 3 doubles, Jeffrey LoDuca and Graham Gettel blanked John Russell and Blake Brewer.

Cempre picked up his 10th singles win of the season following a 6-3, 6-2 win over Thieman at first singles, while Veltman logged a 6-1, 6-2 decision over Karban at the second flight.  At No. 3 singles, Marczak edged Rissell 6-4, 6-4 to garner his ninth win.  Rajupet (6-0, 6-0), Gettel (6-2, 6-1) and Jackson O'Gorman-Bean (6-0, 6-0) completed the sweep with dominating wins at fourth, fifth and sixth singles, respectively.

DU improves to 6-3 on the year, while the Bishops fall to 3-8.  Denison returns to action on Saturday when they travel to Division I Toledo for a 1 p.m. match.