No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 29
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 09
7:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, PA (Westwood Racquet Club) in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU drops Hilton Head opener to Patriots

Grant Veltman logged two wins against George Mason in Hilton Head, S.C.
Grant Veltman logged two wins against George Mason in Hilton Head, S.C.

The Denison men's tennis team dropped a 6-1 decision to Division I George Mason on Sunday afternoon at Hilton Head High School in Hilton Head, S.C.

The Patriots took a 1-0 lead after winning two of three doubles flights.  The lone Big Red win came at first doubles.  Junior Juan Guerra and sophomore Grant Veltman captured their third-straight win and improved to 4-2 on the year after edging out Jimmy Davis and Scott Keaton 8-6.  George Mason earned the doubles point with 8-2 and 8-6 victories at the second and third flights, respectively.

GMU secured the victory by winning five of the six singles matches.  Guerra and sophomore Shankar Rajupet both went to a third set before falling at first and sixth singles, respectively.  Veltman logged DU's singles win.  The sophomore defeated Tanner Bain in straight sets (7-6, 6-4).

The Big Red falls to 2-3, while George Mason improves to 5-2.  Denison returns to action on Wednesday against Rhodes College at 1 p.m.