No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
TBA
Denison
at Findlay
in Toledo, Ohio
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
10:00 AM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
10:00 AM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
11:00 AM
Denison
at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU drops Hilton Head opener to Patriots

Grant Veltman logged two wins against George Mason in Hilton Head, S.C.
Grant Veltman logged two wins against George Mason in Hilton Head, S.C.

The Denison men's tennis team dropped a 6-1 decision to Division I George Mason on Sunday afternoon at Hilton Head High School in Hilton Head, S.C.

The Patriots took a 1-0 lead after winning two of three doubles flights.  The lone Big Red win came at first doubles.  Junior Juan Guerra and sophomore Grant Veltman captured their third-straight win and improved to 4-2 on the year after edging out Jimmy Davis and Scott Keaton 8-6.  George Mason earned the doubles point with 8-2 and 8-6 victories at the second and third flights, respectively.

GMU secured the victory by winning five of the six singles matches.  Guerra and sophomore Shankar Rajupet both went to a third set before falling at first and sixth singles, respectively.  Veltman logged DU's singles win.  The sophomore defeated Tanner Bain in straight sets (7-6, 6-4).

The Big Red falls to 2-3, while George Mason improves to 5-2.  Denison returns to action on Wednesday against Rhodes College at 1 p.m.