No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
6 #31 Lewis & Clark
3 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
7 #34 Denison
2 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final
2 Oberlin
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
Final
2 Denison
5 at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
Final
8 Denison
1 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
Final
1 Wabash
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
5 DePauw
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
5 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
1 Denison
5 at Kenyon
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 Oberlin
2 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Cempre, Marczak pace DU at ITAs

Andrew Marczak (left) and Casey Cempre (right) paced DU at the ITA Central Regional.
Andrew Marczak (left) and Casey Cempre (right) paced DU at the ITA Central Regional.

The doubles team of Andrew Marczak and Casey Cempre paced Denison this weekend at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Central Regional Championship hosted by Wabash College.

After suffering a setback in the opening round of the "A" bracket, the duo rattled off five-straight win en route to winning the consolation bracket.  Marczak and Cempre opened the consolation draw with an 8-4 victory over Elmhurst's Alexander Harbert and William Jung.  Following a second round bye, the tandem won three-straight 8-2 decision en route to earning a berth in the final round.  Marczak and Cempre met a couple familiar faces in the finals as teammates Graham Gettel and Jackson O'Gorman-Bean also reached the championship round.

Gettel and O'Gorman-Bean took down Wabash's Nathan Koelper and Ian Leonard in the opening round, 8-3.  The Big Red team earned its spot in the finals with convincing wins over teams from Kalamazoo, Augustana and DePauw.  In the finals, Marczak and Cempre got the best of their teammates via 8-2 decision.  Marczak and Cempre finished the tournament with a 5-1 record, while Gettel and O'Gorman-Bean posted a 4-2 mark.

In singles play, sophomore Shankar Rajupet went 5-2 over the weekend en route to a second-place finish in the consolation bracket of the "A" draw.  Despite losing a 6-3, 6-3 decision to Chicago's Alexander Golovin in the round of 128, Rajupet went on a five-match tear through the consolation bracket.  The sophomore started his run with a 6-1, 6-2 victory over Amreet Mohanty from Washington-St. Louis.

After a second-round bye, Rajupet went on to pick up straight-set wins over Elmherst's Vincent McPherson (7-5, 6-2), Illinois Wesleyan's Alex George (7-6 [7-3], 6-1), John Healy of Case Western Reserve (6-3, 6-3), and Chicago's Gordan Zhang (6-3, 6-2).  In the consolation final, the Denison sophomore suffered a 7-3, 7-6 (7-1) setback to Kenyon's Colin Haas.