Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Feb 09
Final
8 #9 Chicago
1 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
Final
3 #28 Kalamazoo
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 21
Final
1 Hobart
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
1 Hope
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
0 Wooster
9 #28 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
2 #29 Denison
7 at #9 Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 at #19 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Mo. Baptist
in Creve Coeur, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 vs. #10 Washington (Mo.)
@ Kings Point Sports Club in Belleville, Ill.
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
7 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
Final
9 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Final
0 Wooster
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis
Sat Apr 28
Final
5 Denison
1 vs. Oberlin
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
Final
2 #28 Denison
5 vs. #13 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind. - NCAC Championship
View Full Schedule

Cempre, Marczak pace DU at ITAs

Andrew Marczak (left) and Casey Cempre (right) paced DU at the ITA Central Regional.
Andrew Marczak (left) and Casey Cempre (right) paced DU at the ITA Central Regional.

The doubles team of Andrew Marczak and Casey Cempre paced Denison this weekend at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Central Regional Championship hosted by Wabash College.

After suffering a setback in the opening round of the "A" bracket, the duo rattled off five-straight win en route to winning the consolation bracket.  Marczak and Cempre opened the consolation draw with an 8-4 victory over Elmhurst's Alexander Harbert and William Jung.  Following a second round bye, the tandem won three-straight 8-2 decision en route to earning a berth in the final round.  Marczak and Cempre met a couple familiar faces in the finals as teammates Graham Gettel and Jackson O'Gorman-Bean also reached the championship round.

Gettel and O'Gorman-Bean took down Wabash's Nathan Koelper and Ian Leonard in the opening round, 8-3.  The Big Red team earned its spot in the finals with convincing wins over teams from Kalamazoo, Augustana and DePauw.  In the finals, Marczak and Cempre got the best of their teammates via 8-2 decision.  Marczak and Cempre finished the tournament with a 5-1 record, while Gettel and O'Gorman-Bean posted a 4-2 mark.

In singles play, sophomore Shankar Rajupet went 5-2 over the weekend en route to a second-place finish in the consolation bracket of the "A" draw.  Despite losing a 6-3, 6-3 decision to Chicago's Alexander Golovin in the round of 128, Rajupet went on a five-match tear through the consolation bracket.  The sophomore started his run with a 6-1, 6-2 victory over Amreet Mohanty from Washington-St. Louis.

After a second-round bye, Rajupet went on to pick up straight-set wins over Elmherst's Vincent McPherson (7-5, 6-2), Illinois Wesleyan's Alex George (7-6 [7-3], 6-1), John Healy of Case Western Reserve (6-3, 6-3), and Chicago's Gordan Zhang (6-3, 6-2).  In the consolation final, the Denison sophomore suffered a 7-3, 7-6 (7-1) setback to Kenyon's Colin Haas.