Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 29
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 09
7:30 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, PA (Westwood Racquet Club) in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
10:00 AM
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
TBA
Babson
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
TBA
Hobart
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
10:00 AM
Hope
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
2:00 PM
Mo. Baptist
vs. Denison
@ St. Louis, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
12:00 PM
Denison
at Washington (Mo.)
in St. Louis, Mo.
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
5:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
2:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Six garner All-NCAC accolades

Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.
Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.

The Denison men's tennis team landed six on the 2012 All-North Coast Athletic Conference squad.  Seniors Tom Cawood and Matt McErlean earned first and second-team honors, respectively, while Juan Guerra, Tyler Cempre and Casey Cempre all received honorable mention laurels.

Cawood finished the year with an 18-4 singles record, including a 14-3 mark at the first flight.  In two years at the top flight, the senior has compiled a 28-8 record.  He currently has 53 singles wins which ranks him seventh all-time in school history.  This year marks Cawood's third-straight All-NCAC certificate, and second first-team honor.

McErlean went 8-8 at No. 2 doubles en route to his third-consecutive all-conference award.  The two-time first-team selection went 10-9 on the year, and posted a 2-1 record in NCAC action.  The senior currently ranks sixth all-time with 54 career singles wins.

Guerra, a first-team all-conference choice last season, went 12-5 overall and posted a combined 10-4 record at four different singles flights.  The sophomore went 6-4 at the third flight, where he played the majority of his matches.  Tyler Cempre went 13-2 on the year, including a 12-1 mark over the third, fourth and fifth singles flights, while Casey Cempre posted a 15-8 record during his first year in Granville.

In doubles play, the teams of McErlean and Tyler Cempre, and Cawood and senior Tim Martin both earned first-team recognition.  McErlean and Cempre went 18-5 on the season, including a 13-4 mark at the top doubles flight.  Both seniors finished in the top-7 on DU's all-time doubles wins list.  McErlean sits second with 65 victories, while Cempre's 60 ranks tied for seventh.

Cawood and Martin rattled off 12-straight win en route to a 12-2 record in 2012. Thirteen of the duo's 14 matches were at the second flight.  In addition, Martin ends his four-year career as Denison's all-time leader in doubles victories with 70.  The senior broke Cole Newman's record of 64 victories on April 12 in an 8-4 victory over Kenyon's Tim Rosensteel and CJ Williams.