No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
6 #31 Lewis & Clark
3 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
7 #34 Denison
2 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final
2 Oberlin
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
Final
2 Denison
5 at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
Final
8 Denison
1 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
Final
1 Wabash
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
5 DePauw
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
12:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Six garner All-NCAC accolades

Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.
Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.

The Denison men's tennis team landed six on the 2012 All-North Coast Athletic Conference squad.  Seniors Tom Cawood and Matt McErlean earned first and second-team honors, respectively, while Juan Guerra, Tyler Cempre and Casey Cempre all received honorable mention laurels.

Cawood finished the year with an 18-4 singles record, including a 14-3 mark at the first flight.  In two years at the top flight, the senior has compiled a 28-8 record.  He currently has 53 singles wins which ranks him seventh all-time in school history.  This year marks Cawood's third-straight All-NCAC certificate, and second first-team honor.

McErlean went 8-8 at No. 2 doubles en route to his third-consecutive all-conference award.  The two-time first-team selection went 10-9 on the year, and posted a 2-1 record in NCAC action.  The senior currently ranks sixth all-time with 54 career singles wins.

Guerra, a first-team all-conference choice last season, went 12-5 overall and posted a combined 10-4 record at four different singles flights.  The sophomore went 6-4 at the third flight, where he played the majority of his matches.  Tyler Cempre went 13-2 on the year, including a 12-1 mark over the third, fourth and fifth singles flights, while Casey Cempre posted a 15-8 record during his first year in Granville.

In doubles play, the teams of McErlean and Tyler Cempre, and Cawood and senior Tim Martin both earned first-team recognition.  McErlean and Cempre went 18-5 on the season, including a 13-4 mark at the top doubles flight.  Both seniors finished in the top-7 on DU's all-time doubles wins list.  McErlean sits second with 65 victories, while Cempre's 60 ranks tied for seventh.

Cawood and Martin rattled off 12-straight win en route to a 12-2 record in 2012. Thirteen of the duo's 14 matches were at the second flight.  In addition, Martin ends his four-year career as Denison's all-time leader in doubles victories with 70.  The senior broke Cole Newman's record of 64 victories on April 12 in an 8-4 victory over Kenyon's Tim Rosensteel and CJ Williams.