Fri Sep 01
Final
1 John Carroll
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
5 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Tue Sep 05
Final
0 Wilmington (Ohio)
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
0 Denison
2 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
Final
0 Mount Union
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 20
Final
1 Denison
2 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
3 Denison
2 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
Final
0 Thomas More
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
Final
1 Denison
3 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final - 2OT
0 DePauw
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
0 Oberlin
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 14
Final
5 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final - 2OT
3 Denison
3 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Oct 21
Final - 2OT
0 Wooster
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
Final
1 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 28
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final
0 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio - NCAC Semifinals
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men’s Soccer falls in NCAC Semifinal

Jack Thomas  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jack Thomas | Photo by Jace Delgado

GAMBIER, Ohio – No. 4 seeded Denison men's soccer traveled to Gambier, Ohio on Wednesday afternoon and lost to No. 1 Kenyon College, 1-0, in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament semifinals.

Holding DU to four shots on the day, the Lords totaled 16 shots in the first half. Kenyon took the lead in the 38th minute when Oliver Wynn found Brice Koval for the match's lone goal. Denison entered intermission with a 1-0 deficit.

The Big Red opened the second half aggressive, with a shot coming from Jordan Williams and a corner kick from Max Haupt in the first three minutes of action. Denison was unable to take another shot until there were less than four minutes to play as the Lords held on for the win, 1-0.

Senior goalkeeper Jack Thomas set a new career-high with a 10-save performance against Kenyon, while KC's Ian McInturf totaled two saves in a 90-minute effort. Thomas' previous best was a seven-save outing to open the season against John Carroll University back on Sept. 1.

The Big Red will end the 2017 campaign at 7-8-3, 4-2-3 in the NCAC. This year's NCAC Tournament bid was the program's first since 2010.  The 4-2-3 record in conference play landed them in a tie for third place in the final conference standings.