No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 John Carroll
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
5 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Tue Sep 05
Final
0 Wilmington (Ohio)
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
0 Denison
2 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
Final
0 Mount Union
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 20
Final
1 Denison
2 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
4:30 PM
Thomas More
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
3:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
12:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
7:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
5:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Oct 21
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
7:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
7:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Miller’s two goals fuel DU victory

Quinn Miller scored both goals in Denison's victory over Otterbein.
Quinn Miller scored both goals in Denison's victory over Otterbein.

Denison freshman Quinn Miller scored a pair of goals to power the Big Red to 2-0 victory over Otterbein University on Saturday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field in Granville.  The Big Red have now won four straight and remain unbeaten in 2013.

After 14 scoreless minutes, the Big Red broke through off a set piece in the 15th minute of play.  Denison set up for its first corner kick after the Cards sent the ball over the end line.  Senior Bob Casarona sent a beautiful ball that found the head of Miller.  The rookie forward sent the cross into the lower left 90 for his second goal of the year.

Denison peppered the net for the entire 45 minutes of play, holding a 10-3 edge in shots at the break.  In the second period, Miller once again used his head to find the back of the net.  Near the right side corner, sophomore defender Ryan Fine sent a cross that was buried into the upper left 90 by Miller.

The Big Red doubled up Otterbein in shots, 14-7, including a 6-3 edge in shots on goal.  Denison also attempted seven corner kicks, while the Cards had five corners.  Josh Kellner paced Otterbein with two shots, while goalie Kyle Ripma made four saves.

Miller's two goals came off three shots, while Casarona also recorded three attempts.  Senior Jamie Wagner recorded a game-high four shots off the bench for DU.  Senior goalie Matt Wagner made three saves en route to his second shutout of the season.

Denison remains unbeaten with a 4-0-1 record, while the Cardinals fall to 3-2 on the year.  The Big Red returns to the pitch on Sunday when they host Mount Union at 4 p.m.