Thu Sep 01
6:30 PM
Thomas More
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Sun Sep 04
2:00 PM
Marietta
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 10
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Westminster (Pa.)
@ Marietta in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
2:00 PM
Adrian
vs. Denison
@ Marietta in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Sep 14
7:30 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 17
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Sep 21
4:30 PM
Muskingum
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 24
7:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Tue Sep 27
7:00 PM
Heidelberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 01
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Oct 08
2:30 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 11
7:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 15
7:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 19
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 22
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 25
7:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU picks up road win at Oberlin

Ryan Torgersen scored the game-winning goal early in the second half.
Ryan Torgersen scored the game-winning goal early in the second half.

The Big Red men's soccer team picked up a key North Coast Athletic Conference win over Oberlin on Wednesday night as they knocked off the Yeomen, 2-1.

Oberlin got on the scoreboard first when Dennis Kachinstev scored off an assist from John Ingham just 8:09 into the contest.

The score would remain 1-0 in favor of the Yeomen until DU struck back just seven seconds before the end of the first half.  That's when Mark Waterman sent a corner kick into the box that was settled by Kory Silberg who played the ball to Will Krentz for the match-tying goal.

After the halftime intermission, DU struck quickly once again as senior Ryan Torgersen headed in the eventual game-winner thanks to an assist from Mark Waterman.  For Torgersen it marked his fourth goal of the season.  The assist was Waterman's fourth, as well.

Over the final 18 minutes Denison goalkeeper Matt Wagner posted a pair of saves off shot attempts by Joe Graybeal and Josh Wilkerson, preserving the win for the Big Red.

Denison totaled 13 shots on the night while Oberlin finished with eight shots.  Wagner posted four saves in goal while Oberlin's Brandt Rentel finished with five saves.  The win improves DU's record to 6-5-2 and 2-2-1 in the NCAC.  Oberlin drops to 7-4-1 and 2-2-0 in the conference.  The Big Red will return to action this Saturday (Oct. 13) when they host Wabash at 1 p.m.