Fri Sep 01
Final
1 John Carroll
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
5 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Tue Sep 05
Final
0 Wilmington (Ohio)
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
0 Denison
2 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
Final
0 Mount Union
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 20
Final
1 Denison
2 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
3 Denison
2 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
Final
0 Thomas More
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
Final
1 Denison
3 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final - 2OT
0 DePauw
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
0 Oberlin
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 14
Final
5 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final - 2OT
3 Denison
3 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Oct 21
Final - 2OT
0 Wooster
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
Final
1 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 28
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final
0 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio - NCAC Semifinals
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Offensive outburst fuels OWU victory

Chris Olson scored DU's lone goal against Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday.
Chris Olson scored DU's lone goal against Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday.

Denison jumped out to an early first-half lead at Deeds Field, but No. 6 Ohio Wesleyan answered with five second-half goals to take home the North Coast Athletic Conference victory.

The Big Red jumped out to an early lead on their first shot of the contest.  Denison was awarded a free kick just outside the left side of the box. Sophomore Bob Casarona crossed the ball into the middle, where senior Chris Olson blasted it in from eight yards out following an OWU deflection.  The 18th minute goal was his fourth of the season, and gave the Big Red a 1-0 advantage.

Ohio Wesleyan tied the match with a goal in the 55th minute from Peter Jacobi.  Just 11 minutes later, OWU would strike again.  Tyler Bryant, who leads the NCAC in goals, snuck the ball just inside the right post to give the Bishops a 2-1 advantage.

Beginning with the Bryant goal, the potent Battling Bishop offense scored four goals in a period of just over 11 minutes.  Travis Wall, Jon Stegner, and Matt Bonfini each netted a score to seal up the OWU victory.

The Battling Bishops outshot the Big Red 16-7, and had a 12-5 advantage in the decisive second half.  JJ Dix led Denison with four shots.  Ohio Wesleyan keeper Paul Hendricks made two saves, while sophomore goalie Matt Wagner stopped four shots.

Ohio Wesleyan moves to 15-1 on the year and 7-0 in the NCAC, while Denison drops to 8-6-2 and 4-4 in the conference.  The Big Red will close out the 2011 regular season with a key NCAC contest against Hiram.  Match time is scheduled for 4 p.m. at Barclay-Thomsen Field.