Sun Feb 19
Final
15 #20 Washington and Lee
11 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 26
Final - 2OT
14 Denison
13 at Roanoke
in Salem, Va.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 Albion
22 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 11
Final
4 Montclair St.
13 vs. #19 Denison
@ U.S. Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Md.
Fri Mar 17
Final
11 #17 Denison
3 vs. #11 Dickinson
@ Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 18
Final
6 Nazareth
17 vs. #17 Denison
@ Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 25
Final
20 #12 Denison
4 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 01
Final
10 Wittenberg
18 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 04
Final
26 #10 Denison
1 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
5 Oberlin
21 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 12
Final
17 #4 Denison
6 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sun Apr 16
Final
12 #4 Denison
8 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 19
Final
23 #4 Denison
5 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
1 Wabash
25 #4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
Final
3 Wooster
21 #4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Apr 30
Final
8 Ohio Wesleyan
16 #4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Wed May 10
TBA
TBA
Denison
NCAA Division III Tournament - First Round
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

#10 Denison runs roughshod over Oberlin

Ben Duhoski  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Ben Duhoski | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio-  Denison improved to 9-1 and remaining unbeaten in the North Coast Athletic Conference following a convincing 21-5 win over Oberlin on Saturday at Piper Stadium.

The Big Red outscored Oberlin 8-1 in the first quarter. They followed that with five more goals in the second to take a 13-3 lead into halftime.  In the first quarter, Denison senior attackman Liam Rooney scored his 100th career goal, becoming the third player in Denison history to score 100 goals and have 100 assists in a career.  He finished the day with three goals and five assists.  His eight points moved him into a tie for second place on Denison's career points list with 220.  His five assists ran his season total to 44 which are just three shy of breaking the program's single-season mark held by Paul Doty since 1967. 

Also having a big day on the offensive end was Spencer Butler who posted three goals, four assists and nine ground balls.  His final goal in the third quarter was his 30th of the season.

Junior defenseman Ben Duhoski scored two goals while adding four caused turnovers and five ground balls.  Teddy Sawyer followed with four caused turnovers and four ground balls.

Sophomore Henry DeCamp went head-to-head with one of the nation's best FOGO's in Kinori Rosnow and DeCamp was up for the challenge.  He won 18-of-26 and finished with nine ground balls.  Rosnow, who entered the game leading the NCAC in face-off percentage at .713, was 10-for-30 against the Big Red.

Stephen Paras got the start in goal and played 47 minutes, notching one save while allowing five goals.  Will Howard closed out the final 13 minutes, ending with three saves.

Denison outshot Oberlin 43-21 and won the ground ball game 51-20.  DU was 1-for-1 in extra-man, scoring on a man-up opportunity in the third.  In addition to Butler, Rooney and Duhoski's multi-goal afternoons, Will Donohue scored four goals and had an assist and Owen Armstrong added two goals and one assist.

The Big Red returns to action on Wednesday (April 12) when Denison travels to Wooster for a 7 p.m. faceoff against the Fighting Scots.