No Event
Sun Feb 19
Final
15 #20 Washington and Lee
11 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 26
Final - 2OT
14 Denison
13 at Roanoke
in Salem, Va.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 Albion
22 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 11
Final
4 Montclair St.
13 vs. #19 Denison
@ U.S. Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Md.
Fri Mar 17
Final
11 #17 Denison
3 vs. #11 Dickinson
@ Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 18
Final
6 Nazareth
17 vs. #17 Denison
@ Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 25
Final
20 #12 Denison
4 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 01
Final
10 Wittenberg
18 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 04
Final
26 #10 Denison
1 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
5 Oberlin
21 #10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 12
Final
17 #4 Denison
6 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sun Apr 16
Final
12 #4 Denison
8 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 19
Final
23 #4 Denison
5 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
1 Wabash
25 #4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
7:30 PM
Wooster
#4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DePauw has no answer for Big Red

Mike Soumekh scored a goal and had two assists against DePauw.
Mike Soumekh scored a goal and had two assists against DePauw.

Thirteen different players scored at least one goal as the 12th-ranked Big Red cruised to a 23-1 victory over DePauw University on Saturday at Piper Stadium.

This marked the first-ever meeting between Denison and DePauw in men's lacrosse since the 2013 season marks the first year that the Tigers have been a varsity program and a member of the North Coast Athletic Conference.

DU asserted itself early with 11 first quarter goals.  They would add six more in the second quarter to take a 17-0 lead into the halftime intermission.  The Denison offense was led by Teddy Powell, Connor Carroll and Justin DeMarchi who all posted four points on the day.  Powell posted two goals and two assists while Carroll and DeMarchi scored three times and added one assist.

The Big Red outshot the Tigers 57-7 and won the ground ball game 44-15.  First-year attack Al Barnhart tied with rookie face-off specialist Eric Baumgardner for the team lead in ground balls with seven.  When DePauw did have the ball, the Tigers struggled to successfully clear it, finishing with just a 38 percent clearing percentage (5-of-13).

Three goalies saw time in the cage as Chris Thomas got the start and played 10 minutes.  Clark Bullington relieved him in the first quarter and played the next 31 minutes, recording two saves.  Henry Donaldson finished out the game, posting one save.

Denison moves to 7-1 overall and 2-0 in the NCAC with the victory.  DePauw falls to 0-8.  The Big Red will return to action on Tuesday at Oberlin.  That will set up a clash with No. 14 Cabrini next Saturday in Radnor, Pa.