Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sun Feb 18
1:00 PM
Denison
at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Sun Feb 25
1:00 PM
Denison
at Stevenson
in Owings Mills, Md.
Sun Mar 04
1:00 PM
Roanoke
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Albion
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 10
2:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 16
5:30 PM
Amherst
vs. Denison
@ Stevenson Univ. in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 17
5:30 PM
Denison
vs. Dickinson
@ Stevenson Univ. in Owings Mills, Md.
Fri Mar 23
1:00 PM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ Charlotte Latin H.S. in Charlotte, N.C.
Tue Mar 27
7:30 PM
Middlebury
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Apr 03
7:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
2:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
Wed Apr 11
7:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

DePauw has no answer for Big Red

Mike Soumekh scored a goal and had two assists against DePauw.
Mike Soumekh scored a goal and had two assists against DePauw.

Thirteen different players scored at least one goal as the 12th-ranked Big Red cruised to a 23-1 victory over DePauw University on Saturday at Piper Stadium.

This marked the first-ever meeting between Denison and DePauw in men's lacrosse since the 2013 season marks the first year that the Tigers have been a varsity program and a member of the North Coast Athletic Conference.

DU asserted itself early with 11 first quarter goals.  They would add six more in the second quarter to take a 17-0 lead into the halftime intermission.  The Denison offense was led by Teddy Powell, Connor Carroll and Justin DeMarchi who all posted four points on the day.  Powell posted two goals and two assists while Carroll and DeMarchi scored three times and added one assist.

The Big Red outshot the Tigers 57-7 and won the ground ball game 44-15.  First-year attack Al Barnhart tied with rookie face-off specialist Eric Baumgardner for the team lead in ground balls with seven.  When DePauw did have the ball, the Tigers struggled to successfully clear it, finishing with just a 38 percent clearing percentage (5-of-13).

Three goalies saw time in the cage as Chris Thomas got the start and played 10 minutes.  Clark Bullington relieved him in the first quarter and played the next 31 minutes, recording two saves.  Henry Donaldson finished out the game, posting one save.

Denison moves to 7-1 overall and 2-0 in the NCAC with the victory.  DePauw falls to 0-8.  The Big Red will return to action on Tuesday at Oberlin.  That will set up a clash with No. 14 Cabrini next Saturday in Radnor, Pa.