Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
Final
74 Denison
69 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final - 3OT
84 Denison
83 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
61 Oberlin
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Wittenberg
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
Final
76 Capital
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
Final
93 Ohio Northern
64 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
Final
69 Chicago
82 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
70 Denison
89 at #9 Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
97 Denison
72 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
Final
83 DePauw
70 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
Final
46 Denison
63 at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
Final
62 Hiram
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
Final
90 Kenyon
93 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Crusaders pull away from DU in the second half

Jack Coulter  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jack Coulter | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Capital University got 19 points from Will Hannah and 17 from Joey Weingartner to aid in a 76-69 victory over Denison on Tuesday night at Livingston Gymnasium.

The Crusaders came out of the gates with an 11-2 run over the first four minutes of the game.  Denison answered the bell with an 18-2 run over the next eight minutes to take a 20-13 lead.  It was the Big Red bench that got things going. A pair of 3-pointers by Maxwell Siwik kicked things off and then it was the active inside presence of Fred Brou and Johnny Vernasco that kept turning the tide.

Denison's biggest lead was eight with three minutes to play in the first.  A 10-0 Capital run powered by treys from Hannah and Weingartner tied the game at 34-34 with 30 seconds left.  Denison guard Jack Coulter drained a 3-pointer just before the horn to send Denison into halftime with a 37-34 lead.

The two teams went back and forth to open the second half.  Another triple by Coulter cut the Big Red's deficit to two with 12:18 remaining.

It was still a one-possession game with just over six minutes to play.  After a miss by Siwik, Austin Schreck canned a 3-pointer to go up six.  The Crusaders put the game away with a 13-3 run that lasted into the final minute of play.  A pair of 3-pointers from Coulter and Siwik in the final seconds set the final at 76-69.

Coulter scored a career-high 19 points in 22 minutes off the bench.  He was 5-of-8 from long distance. Vernasco added 16 points and four rebounds in 29 minutes.  Garrett Collier and Siwik added 11 points while Brou ended with five points, 11 rebounds and four assists.

Denison shot 54 percent from the field and were 9-of-23 (.391) from beyond the arc.  They outrebounded Capital 32-28 but committed 18 turnovers compared to just eight for the Crusaders.  Capital turned Denison's 18 turnovers into 18 points at the other end.

Capital improves to 4-5 while Denison drops to 6-3. The Big Red returns to Livingston Gym on Wednesday, Dec. 20 when they host Ohio Northern at 7 p.m.