No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
Final
74 Denison
69 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

#23 Denison gets back on track at DePauw

Matthew Bauer | Photo by Jace Delgado
Matthew Bauer | Photo by Jace Delgado

GREENCASTLE, Ind. -- The 23rd-ranked Big Red men's basketball team got back in the win column on Wednesday night following a 70-62 victory at DePauw. With the win, Denison improves to 18-4 overall and 12-3 in North Coast Athletic Conference play.

The Big Red jumped out to an early 7-0 lead before grabbing a 12-3 advantage in the first five minutes of play. DePauw rallied from the nine-point deficit to cut margin to one at 20-19 with 6:45 remaining in the opening half. In front 27-26, Denison rattled off five-straight points behind an Andrew Castagnetti layup and a Matthew Bauer three to take a six-point lead. However, the Tigers put together an 8-0 run of their own to take their first lead of the period thanks to a Luke Lattner three-pointer just before the buzzer.

DePauw built up a four-point edge early in the half after a pair of Jack VandeMerkt free throws. However, two threes on consecutive possessions erased the deficit and gave the Big Red a 38-36 lead. A Jett Speelman bucket and a free throw by Garrett Collier increased the advantage to 41-36 but another six-point burst capped off by Lattner trey gave the home team a one-point advantage.

Matt Doyle and Castagnetti connected on back-to-back triples to rebuild a two-possession lead, while a three from Devon Pitts extended the advantage to six at 50-44. Now ahead 53-51, three-pointers from Bauer and Speelman made it a three-possession game. Leading 63-58 with just under four minutes to go, Bauer buried his sixth three of the ball game to put the Big Red up 66-58. Speelman went 4-for-4 at the charity stripe over the final minute to lock up the eight-point victory.

Denison shot 40 percent (23-for-57) from the field and connected on double-digit three for the eighth time this season after going 13-for 34 (38.2 percent) from beyond the arc. The Big Red also assisted on 17 of their 23 made buckets, while also outrebounding the Tigers 42-31.

Bauer led all scorers with a career-high 20 points after going 7-for-14 from the field and 6-for-10 from three-point range. He also grabbed 11 rebounds and blocked two shots in 26 minutes. Speelman finished with 18 points and seven boards, while Castagnetti scored 10 points off the bench. Collier finished with five assists.

Latter paced the Tigers with 16 points, six rebounds, four assists and two steals. Cris Burrough also had six boards to go along with nine points off the bench.

This year's senior class picked up their 60th win, becoming the winningest class in program history. Denison returns to action on Saturday when they travel to Meadville, Pa. to take on the Allegheny Gators. Tip-off is slated for 3 p.m.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout