No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 19
Final
85 Denison
73 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
Final
75 Case Western Reserve
85 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
Final
66 Denison
59 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
Final
65 Denison
59 at #11 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
58 Kenyon
67 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
Final
72 #25 Denison
69 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
Final - OT
72 #25 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
Final
75 #16 Denison
84 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
Final
79 #21 Denison
52 at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
Final
72 #21 Denison
64 at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
Final
80 Ohio Wesleyan
83 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
Final
63 Allegheny
104 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
Final
61 DePauw
74 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
Final
66 #19 Denison
53 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
Final
83 #10 Denison
77 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
Final
82 #10 Denison
67 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
Final
73 Oberlin
89 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
Final
71 Wittenberg
70 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
Final
77 #12 Denison
82 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
Final
77 Wooster
62 #12 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
Final
70 #23 Denison
62 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
Final
98 #23 Denison
78 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
Final
66 Hiram
80 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
65 Wabash
76 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 21
Final
79 DePauw
85 #14 Denison
NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 24
Final
77 #14 Denison
87 vs. Wooster
@ Ohio Wesleyan NCAC Tournament Semifinal in Delaware, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Late basket pushes Wittenberg past #9 Denison

Bret Woolard  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Bret Woolard | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Shane Edwards scored the go-ahead basket with under 10 seconds to play and Denison's final shot was blocked at the buzzer, preserving the 71-70 victory for the Tigers at Livingston Gymnasium. 

The loss snaps a nine-game winning streak for the Big Red who fall to 17-2 overall and 11-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.

The ninth-ranked Big Red appeared to have things under control early in the second half when David Meurer's layup lifted Denison to a 45-29 lead with just over 16 minutes to play.

Over the next 10 minutes, Jaelin Williams put the Tigers on his back and made it a one-point game at 57-56 with 7:37 remaining.  During that stretch, Williams scored 12 of Wittenberg's 27 points by going 3-for-4 from beyond the arc.

Denison responded with a 12-3 run fueled by treys from Maxwell Siwik and Meurer. With 3:46 to play, DU held a 69-59 lead.

That lead dwindled to three after Williams' jumper with 1:36 to go.  At the other end, Meurer missed a layup that could have put his team on top by five.  Instead, Cody Phillippi snagged the rebound and Williams drilled a long jumper that made it a one-point lead for DU with 58 seconds to play.

Denison's next possession resulted in a turnover after a steal by Williams.  The Tigers called a timeout with 27 seconds on the clock and drew up a play that ended up going to Edwards.  The senior drove the lane and sent a shot off the glass for the go-ahead field goal.  After inbounding the basketball and advancing it over half court, Denison called a timeout with 4.7 seconds to play.

The ball went to senior Bret Woolard near the top of the key.  After a spin move, he went to the basket with a step on his defender.  At the last possible second, Williams swooped in and swatted Woolard's game-winning attempt off the glass as time expired.  As Denison's bench lobbied for a goaltending call from the officials, Wittenberg celebrated the upset win at midcourt.

It marked the first loss for the Big Red since December 14 at Capital.  Meurer led all scorers with 25 points on 10-of-18 shooting.  Woolard followed with 10 points while Siwik and Matthew Bauer scored eight.  Jett Speelman, Denison's leading scorer, was held in check for four points and four rebounds on 1-of-8 shooting.

Williams finished with a team-high 23 points for the Tigers.  He was 8-of-13 from the field and 4-of-8 from long range.  Sixteen of his 23 came in the second half.  He also finished with four steals and eight rebounds.

Wittenberg improves to 13-6 and 7-5 in the NCAC.  Despite the loss, Denison holds a one-game lead over second-place Wooster in the NCAC standings at 11-1.  The Fighting Scots are 10-2 after today's 111-104 double overtime win at DePauw.

Denison will return to the court on Wednesday, Feb. 1 when they travel to Delaware, Ohio for an 8 p.m. tip-off against Ohio Wesleyan University.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout