No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 19
Final
85 Denison
73 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
Final
75 Case Western Reserve
85 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
Final
66 Denison
59 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
Final
65 Denison
59 at #11 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
58 Kenyon
67 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
Final
72 #25 Denison
69 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
Final - OT
72 #25 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
Final
75 #16 Denison
84 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
Final
79 #21 Denison
52 at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
Final
72 #21 Denison
64 at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
Final
80 Ohio Wesleyan
83 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
Final
63 Allegheny
104 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
Final
61 DePauw
74 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
Final
66 #19 Denison
53 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
Final
83 #10 Denison
77 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
Final
82 #10 Denison
67 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
Final
73 Oberlin
89 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
Final
71 Wittenberg
70 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
Final
77 #12 Denison
82 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
Final
77 Wooster
62 #12 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
Final
70 #23 Denison
62 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
Final
98 #23 Denison
78 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
Final
66 Hiram
80 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
65 Wabash
76 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 21
Final
79 DePauw
85 #14 Denison
NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 24
Final
77 #14 Denison
87 vs. Wooster
@ Ohio Wesleyan NCAC Tournament Semifinal in Delaware, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

#10 Denison holds off Hiram

Claude Chandonnet  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Claude Chandonnet | Photo by Jace Delgado

HIRAM, Ohio— No. 10 Denison equaled its best start in school history with an 83-77 win over Hiram College at Price Gymnasium.  The Big Red was led by Claude Chandonnet who came off the bench to score a career-high 23 points while going 7-of-9 from 3-point range. 

Denison shot 53 percent in the first half and built an 18-point lead heading into the break.  With nine minutes to play in the game, Jett Speelman's slam put DU on top 63-51.  Two more free throws from Speelman after a miss by Hiram's Dean Sherman pushed the Big Red's lead back out to 14. 

With 40 seconds left in the game, Denison still had a 14-point lead.  That's when the Terriers proceeded to score nine straight points in a span of 33 seconds.  Suddenly it was a five point game with seven seconds to play.  Garrett Collier's free throw gave the Big Red an 81-75 lead, thwarting the frantic Hiram comeback bid.

Five of Chandonnet's seven triples came in the first half as he accounted for all of Denison's 3-point makes in the period.  In the second half, Speelman scored 10 of his 16 points to pace the Big Red.  David Meurer finished with 17 points and six assists in 29 minutes.

Hiram got 24 points from Paul Ortiz while Joe Caspio finished with 17 points and nine rebounds.  The Terriers held a 35-32 advantage on the glass, but 20 turnovers by the home team resulted in 22 points by Denison.

With the win, the Big Red improves to 15-1, matching the season record set by the 1913-14 Denison team that was coached by third-year head coach Walter Livingston.  That team's only loss came against Ohio State, 27-22 in their 12th game of the season.

The victory also keeps Denison undefeated in North Coast Athletic Conference play at 9-0.  The Big Red holds a two-game lead over Ohio Wesleyan and Wooster in the current NCAC standings.

With the loss, Hiram drops to 6-9 and 3-5 in conference play.  Denison returns to action on Saturday when they travel to Kenyon (4-12, 3-6) for a 3 p.m. tip-off against the Lords.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout