Wed Nov 15
7:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
5:00 PM
Cabrini
vs. Denison
@ @ Mary Washington, Va in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
1:00 PM
Denison
at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Ada, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Chicago, Ill.
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

#10 Denison holds off Hiram

Claude Chandonnet  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Claude Chandonnet | Photo by Jace Delgado

HIRAM, Ohio— No. 10 Denison equaled its best start in school history with an 83-77 win over Hiram College at Price Gymnasium.  The Big Red was led by Claude Chandonnet who came off the bench to score a career-high 23 points while going 7-of-9 from 3-point range. 

Denison shot 53 percent in the first half and built an 18-point lead heading into the break.  With nine minutes to play in the game, Jett Speelman's slam put DU on top 63-51.  Two more free throws from Speelman after a miss by Hiram's Dean Sherman pushed the Big Red's lead back out to 14. 

With 40 seconds left in the game, Denison still had a 14-point lead.  That's when the Terriers proceeded to score nine straight points in a span of 33 seconds.  Suddenly it was a five point game with seven seconds to play.  Garrett Collier's free throw gave the Big Red an 81-75 lead, thwarting the frantic Hiram comeback bid.

Five of Chandonnet's seven triples came in the first half as he accounted for all of Denison's 3-point makes in the period.  In the second half, Speelman scored 10 of his 16 points to pace the Big Red.  David Meurer finished with 17 points and six assists in 29 minutes.

Hiram got 24 points from Paul Ortiz while Joe Caspio finished with 17 points and nine rebounds.  The Terriers held a 35-32 advantage on the glass, but 20 turnovers by the home team resulted in 22 points by Denison.

With the win, the Big Red improves to 15-1, matching the season record set by the 1913-14 Denison team that was coached by third-year head coach Walter Livingston.  That team's only loss came against Ohio State, 27-22 in their 12th game of the season.

The victory also keeps Denison undefeated in North Coast Athletic Conference play at 9-0.  The Big Red holds a two-game lead over Ohio Wesleyan and Wooster in the current NCAC standings.

With the loss, Hiram drops to 6-9 and 3-5 in conference play.  Denison returns to action on Saturday when they travel to Kenyon (4-12, 3-6) for a 3 p.m. tip-off against the Lords.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout