Wed Nov 15
7:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
5:00 PM
Cabrini
vs. Denison
@ Mary Washington, Va in Fredericksburg, Va
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Meurer's shot leads Denison past OWU

David Meurer  |  Photo by Ryan McLoughlin
David Meurer | Photo by Ryan McLoughlin

GRANVILLE, Ohio— David Meurer drilled a 3-pointer with 1.9 seconds remaining to send No. 21 Denison to a thrilling 83-80 win over Ohio Wesleyan from Livingston Gym.  The win keeps Denison undefeated and in first place in the North Coast Athletic Conference at 5-0.  Ohio Wesleyan drops to 4-1 in conference play.

After leading for the majority of the game, Denison trailed 78-77 with just over two minutes to play.  OWU's Ben Simpson missed a shot down low and Jett Speelman was there for the rebound.  At the other end, it was Big Red reserve Johnny Vernasco who knocked down a clutch 3-pointer from the elbow off a pass from Speelman.  The shot put Denison back on top, 80-78 with 1:59 to play.

The Battling Bishops came right back as Jon Griggs scored in the paint, tying the game at 80-80.  The Big Red turned to their leading scorer, Speelman, who had a game-high 25 points at the time.  His shot missed the mark and Simpson gathered the rebound.  Seconds after the rebound, a foul on the Big Red sent Simpson to the line with a chance to break the tie.  Simpson missed the front end of the one-and-one and Vernasco was there for the rebound.

After a Denison timeout, Meurer took a 3-pointer with 21 seconds that missed, but Vernasco was once again Johnny-on-the-spot with the timely rebound with 10 seconds left.  That set the stage for Meurer, who did his best Kyrie Irving impression dribbling the clock down only to let it fly with three seconds on the clock.  His shot from well beyond the arc was good but 1.9 seconds remained. 

The Bishops called a timeout to set up their final play and it nearly worked.  The long inbounds pass was caught at the other foul line and a quick shovel pass found Will Orr who just missed the game-tying attempt from the top of the arc.

The win improves Denison's record to 11-1, continuing the program's best start since 1923.

Meurer finished with 19 points off an 8-of-16 shooting performance.  Speelman scored 25 while going 8-of-14 from the field.  He was 3-of-4 from 3-point range and a perfect 6-for-6 from the free throw line.  On the season, Speelman is shooting 54 percent from long range and 96 percent from the line.

Vernasco's 12 points and five rebounds in 18 minutes off the bench proved to be the X-factor.  Matthew Bauer added nine points and four rebounds while Garrett Collier chipped in six points while leading the team with seven assists.

Denison shot 54 percent from the field (31-of-57) and was 8-of-16 on triple tries. 

Ohio Wesleyan got 25 points from Seth Clark, 20 of which came in the first half.  Simpson added 16 and Orr finished with nine.  The Battling Bishops shot 51 percent from the field but were just 9-of-32 (.281) from deep.  Denison also held a 34-24 advantage on the glass.

The Big Red returns to the court on Saturday, Jan. 7 when they host Allegheny at 3 p.m.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout