Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
Final
74 Denison
69 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final - 3OT
84 Denison
83 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
61 Oberlin
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Wittenberg
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
Final
76 Capital
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
Final
93 Ohio Northern
64 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
Final
69 Chicago
82 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
70 Denison
89 at #9 Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
97 Denison
72 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
Final
83 DePauw
70 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
Final
46 Denison
63 at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
Final
62 Hiram
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

DU extends winning streak at Otterbein

Jett Speelman
Jett Speelman

WESTERVILLE, Ohio -- The Big Red men's basketball team held off a late charge from Otterbein en route to a 66-59 win that moved Denison to a perfect 4-0 on the season.

After surrendering the first seven points of the contest, DU rattled off seven straight tallies to tie the game four and a half minutes into the opening period. After a tightly contested 11 minutes, the Big Red surged over the final 4:17 to take a double-digit lead into the locker room.

Michael Howard gave the Cardinals a 23-22 lead with 4:39 to play in the half. Senior Bret Woolard followed with a layup 22 seconds later that jump-started a 12-0 run to close the stanza. Jett Speelman added to the lead with a dunk on the ensuing DU possession before knocking down a pair at the charity stripe. With 96 seconds to play, the senior post connecting on two more attempts at the foul line to push the Denison lead to seven. Senior Matthew Bauer closed out the run with back-to-back layups to close out the half.

The Big Red maintained a double-digit advantage for the first 15 minutes of the second half, leading by as many as 17 on two separate occasions. Senior point guard David Meurer gave Denison their first 17-point lead with 8:35 to play after converting off a pass from Garrett Collier. Roughly a minute later, Collier matched DU's largest lead of the game with a jumper. Otterbein tried to mount a rally behind a 19-6 burst that shrunk the deficit to 59-55 with 52 seconds left in regulation. However, a 7-for-8 performance at the free throw line over the final 47 seconds securing the seven-point victory.

Speelman led all scorers with 19 points after going 5-for-6 from inside the arc and a perfect 9-for-9 from the foul line. The senior also pulled down four rebounds in 25 minutes of action. Bauer chipped in 11 points and five boards off the bench, while Meurer added 10 points, five assists and four rebounds. Woolard paced DU on the glass with eight rebounds to go along with eight points.

Bryan Mackenzie paced the Cardinal offense with 15 points, while Nick Koontz had a game-high six steals. Howard and Connor Clark had six rebounds each.

Denison shot 49 percent (23-for-47) from the field compared to Otterbein's 33-percent (21-for-63) conversion rate from the floor. The Big Red were plus-11 on the glass, outrebounding the Cards 40-29. DU outscored Otterbein in the paint 38-26.

The Big Red improves to a perfect 4-0 on the year, while the Cardinals fall to 1-3. Denison will open North Coast Athletic Conference play on Wednesday when they travel to seventh-ranked Wooster. Tip-off from Timken Gymnasium is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout