Tue Nov 15
Final
84 Washington & Jefferson
96 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
Final
85 Denison
73 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
Final
75 Case Western Reserve
85 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
Final
66 Denison
59 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
Final
65 Denison
59 at #11 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
58 Kenyon
67 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
Final
72 #25 Denison
69 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
Final - OT
72 #25 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
Final
75 #16 Denison
84 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
Final
79 #21 Denison
52 at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
Final
72 #21 Denison
64 at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
Final
80 Ohio Wesleyan
83 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
Final
63 Allegheny
104 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
Final
61 DePauw
74 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
Final
66 #19 Denison
53 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
6:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU extends winning streak at Otterbein

Jett Speelman
Jett Speelman

WESTERVILLE, Ohio -- The Big Red men's basketball team held off a late charge from Otterbein en route to a 66-59 win that moved Denison to a perfect 4-0 on the season.

After surrendering the first seven points of the contest, DU rattled off seven straight tallies to tie the game four and a half minutes into the opening period. After a tightly contested 11 minutes, the Big Red surged over the final 4:17 to take a double-digit lead into the locker room.

Michael Howard gave the Cardinals a 23-22 lead with 4:39 to play in the half. Senior Bret Woolard followed with a layup 22 seconds later that jump-started a 12-0 run to close the stanza. Jett Speelman added to the lead with a dunk on the ensuing DU possession before knocking down a pair at the charity stripe. With 96 seconds to play, the senior post connecting on two more attempts at the foul line to push the Denison lead to seven. Senior Matthew Bauer closed out the run with back-to-back layups to close out the half.

The Big Red maintained a double-digit advantage for the first 15 minutes of the second half, leading by as many as 17 on two separate occasions. Senior point guard David Meurer gave Denison their first 17-point lead with 8:35 to play after converting off a pass from Garrett Collier. Roughly a minute later, Collier matched DU's largest lead of the game with a jumper. Otterbein tried to mount a rally behind a 19-6 burst that shrunk the deficit to 59-55 with 52 seconds left in regulation. However, a 7-for-8 performance at the free throw line over the final 47 seconds securing the seven-point victory.

Speelman led all scorers with 19 points after going 5-for-6 from inside the arc and a perfect 9-for-9 from the foul line. The senior also pulled down four rebounds in 25 minutes of action. Bauer chipped in 11 points and five boards off the bench, while Meurer added 10 points, five assists and four rebounds. Woolard paced DU on the glass with eight rebounds to go along with eight points.

Bryan Mackenzie paced the Cardinal offense with 15 points, while Nick Koontz had a game-high six steals. Howard and Connor Clark had six rebounds each.

Denison shot 49 percent (23-for-47) from the field compared to Otterbein's 33-percent (21-for-63) conversion rate from the floor. The Big Red were plus-11 on the glass, outrebounding the Cards 40-29. DU outscored Otterbein in the paint 38-26.

The Big Red improves to a perfect 4-0 on the year, while the Cardinals fall to 1-3. Denison will open North Coast Athletic Conference play on Wednesday when they travel to seventh-ranked Wooster. Tip-off from Timken Gymnasium is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.