No Event
Tue Nov 15
Final
84 Washington & Jefferson
96 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
Final
85 Denison
73 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
Final
75 Case Western Reserve
85 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
Final
66 Denison
59 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
Final
65 Denison
59 at #11 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
58 Kenyon
67 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
Final
72 #25 Denison
69 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
Final - OT
72 #25 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
Final
75 #16 Denison
84 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
Final
79 #21 Denison
52 at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
Final
72 #21 Denison
64 at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
Final
80 Ohio Wesleyan
83 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
Final
63 Allegheny
104 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
Final
61 DePauw
74 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
Final
66 #19 Denison
53 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
Final
83 #10 Denison
77 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
Final
82 #10 Denison
67 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
Final
73 Oberlin
89 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
Final
71 Wittenberg
70 #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
Final
77 #12 Denison
82 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
Final
77 Wooster
62 #12 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
Final
70 #23 Denison
62 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
Final
98 #23 Denison
78 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
Final
66 Hiram
80 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
65 Wabash
76 #19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 21
Final
79 DePauw
85 #14 Denison
NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 24
8:30 PM
#14 Denison
vs. Wooster
@ Ohio Wesleyan NCAC Tournament Semifinal in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red moves to 3-0 with win over Case

Andrew Castagnetti
Andrew Castagnetti

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Denison connected on 11-of-23 from beyond the arc and got 23 points from Jett Speelman. That was enough to send the Big Red to an 85-75 win over Case Western Reserve from Livingston Gymnasium.  With the win, Denison improves to 3-0.

Both teams got off to a hot start in the first half, shooting over 50 percent from the field.  The Spartans took a 44-41 lead into the locker room despite 15 points from Speelman.

With the score tied 56-56 seven minutes into the second half, Speelman scored down low off a pass from Garrett Collier.  With 9:13 to play, Collier came up with a steal and found David Meurer who connected on a 3-pointer in transition to go up 61-57.  A minute later, Andrew Castagnetti knocked down his fourth triple of the contest, giving the Big Red a 64-57 lead with 8:17 remaining.

Case answered with a 3-pointer from David Black that was followed by a Denison timeout.  Out of the 30-second timeout, Collier drove the lane and kicked to a wide open Devon Pitts who drilled a trey from the elbow.  With 5:17 left, Bret Woolard scored inside, giving his squad their largest lead of the night at 71-62.

Over the final three minutes, Denison went 12-for-15 at the free throw line to lock up the victory.

Speelman was 8-for-11 from the field, 3-for-3 from long range and 4-for-4 from the free throw line.  He also led the team with seven rebounds in 29 minutes.  Meurer scored 15 points while Castagnetti scored 12 points, all from behind the arc.

Collier distributed a career-high 10 assists to go along with eight points and two steals.  As a team, Denison assisted on 21 of their 28 field goals.

DU was 28-of-54 (.519) and was 11-of-23 (.478) from three.  Case shot 44 percent from the field and was 27 percent from 3-point land.  Daniel Chambers led the Spartans with 19 points and Javier Alvarez scored 18 in 36 minutes.

The Big Red returns to the court on Sunday, Nov. 27 when they travel to Westerville, Ohio for a 3 p.m. tip against Otterbein University.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout