Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
Final
74 Denison
69 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final - 3OT
84 Denison
83 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
61 Oberlin
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Wittenberg
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
Final
76 Capital
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Woolard's 25 leads Denison past ONU

Bret Woolard
Bret Woolard

ADA, Ohio-  An 18-0 run in the opening minutes of the second half was enough to power Denison to an 85-73 road victory over Ohio Northern on Saturday.  With the win, Denison moves to 2-0 while the Polar Bears drop to 0-2.

After trailing for much of the first half, Denison got a burst of energy off the bench from senior Bret Woolard.  The 6-4 post gave Ohio Northern fits inside, drawing fouls on three consecutive offensive possessions.  He connected on all six free throw attempts, trimming the Polar Bears' lead to 29-25 with 2:24 left in the opening half.

A steal by Andrew Castagnetti on ONU's next possession was finished off by Woolard at the other end to make it a two-point game.  Another ONU turnover resulted in a bucket by Matthew Bauer in the paint and the game was tied at 29-29.  DU evened things again with three seconds to play in the first half when Garrett Collier drained a jumper off a pass from David Meurer.

The two teams went into the locker room deadlocked at 31-31.

One minute into the second half, Ohio Northern's Ryan Bruns connected on a layup.  That signaled the start of a six-minute drought for the home team.  During that span, Denison was 8-for-13 with 3-pointers by Castagnetti and Claude Chandonnet sprinkled in.

ONU's Nate Burger stopped the bleeding with a jumper with 13:49 to play, cutting into Denison's burgeoning 49-35 lead.  DU responded with two quick baskets by Woolard and a 3-pointer by Bauer that put the Big Red on top 56-35 with 11:56 remaining.

The Polar Bears began to warm up over the final 12 minutes of the second half, outscoring Denison 39-29 over that stretch.  When the dust settled, Denison pulled out of Ada with the 12-point victory.

Woolard led all scorers with 25 points in just 17 minutes off the bench.  He was 7-for-13 from the field and 9-of-10 from the free throw line.  He also grabbed five rebounds.  His 25 points were three shy of his career-high set against Wittenberg on Jan. 31, 2015.

Jett Speelman finished with 15 points and three rebounds in 20 minutes.  Collier set a new career-high with 15 points. He was also 9-for-10 from the charity stripe while leading the team with seven rebounds and four assists.  Meurer rounded out the scoring leaders with nine points.

Denison shot 40 percent from the field and was 87 percent (33-for-38) from the free throw line.

Ohio Northern was led by Burger's 19 points in 28 minutes off the bench. Bruns scored 16 and led the team with nine rebounds.

The Big Red is back in action on Tuesday, Nov. 22 when they host Case Western Reserve at 7 p.m. inside Livingston Gymnasium.  

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout