Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU falls to Witt in NCAC Quarters

David Meurer's 14-point second half wasn't enough to push DU past Wittenberg on Tuesday.
David Meurer's 14-point second half wasn't enough to push DU past Wittenberg on Tuesday.

Wittenberg shot 50 percent from the field and got 16 points and nine rebounds from Scott Masin.  That would be enough to push the 22nd ranked Tigers past Denison, 64-49, in the quarterfinals of the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament.

The 2014 season has proved that when the Big Red is shooting it well from the outside they can be a very tough team to beat.  In fact, when Denison shoots better than 30 percent from beyond the arc, they are 10-4.  Tonight was not one of DU's better nights from downtown.  They limped out of the gate with a 22-point first half but were gritty on the defensive end, forcing 10 Wittenberg turnovers, while holding the home team to just 27 points.

Wittenberg would set the tempo in the second half by scoring the first eight points of the period.  Now leading by 13, all the Tigers had to do was avoid a big run by Denison down the stretch.

With just under 10 minutes to play, Denison would connect on three consecutive 3-pointers with the first coming from Briggs King and the next two coming via David Meurer.  Mix in a John Cheng field goal and Denison had the Tiger lead trimmed to nine with 7:14 to play.

With 4:41 remaining, a layup by Meurer would cut the Wittenberg lead to eight at 55-47.  The home team countered with a Leahy bucket and then the offensive well went dry for the Big Red.  Over the final 4:30 Denison went 1-for-9 from the field, allowing Wittenberg to go on a 9-2 run to close out the game.

Meurer led Denison with 14 points, all coming in the second half.  Alex Longi scored nine points and grabbed five rebounds in 36 minutes. He leaves Denison with 1,090 career points, which is tied for 16th on the Big Red's all-time scoring list. King paced DU with six rebounds, four steals, and nine points in 31 minutes.

The Tigers held a 39-26 advantage on the glass with Masin leading Wittenberg with nine rebounds and 16 points.  Leahy led all scorers with 17 points and Alex Fultz chipped in 10 points off the bench.

Denison shot 33 percent as a team, going 19-for-58.  They only got to the free throw line six times, connecting on four.  Meanwhile, Wittenberg hit 22-of-44 shots from the field, and was 13-for-18 at the charity stripe.

No. 22 Wittenberg (20-6) advances to the NCAC Tournament Semifinals where they will face Ohio Wesleyan in Wooster, Ohio on Friday (Feb. 28).  Denison's 2013-14 campaign comes to a close with a record of 12-14.

Late surge sinks Denison
February 19, 2014 Late surge sinks Denison
DU dominates on Senior Day
February 15, 2014 DU dominates on Senior Day
Men fall to ranked DePauw
January 29, 2014 Men fall to ranked DePauw
Late run powers DU to win
January 18, 2014 Late run powers DU to win
Lords put Big Red on ice
January 15, 2014 Lords put Big Red on ice
Big Red overpowers Yeomen
January 8, 2014 Big Red overpowers Yeomen
Marietta spoils home opener
November 23, 2013 Marietta spoils home opener
DU drops season opener at W&J
November 20, 2013 DU drops season opener at W&J