Tue Nov 15
7:00 PM
Washington & Jefferson
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
7:00 PM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
7:15 PM
Denison
at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

No. 16 OWU pulls away from Big Red

Bret Woolard scored 11 points off the bench vs. No. 16 Ohio Wesleyan.
Bret Woolard scored 11 points off the bench vs. No. 16 Ohio Wesleyan.

No. 16 Ohio Wesleyan lived up to its ranking on Wednesday night as they rolled to a 94-68 win over Denison from Branch Rickey Arena.  A 24-2 run by the Bishops early in the first half would open up 27-8 lead for the host.

The Big Red would claw its way back into the contest.  Despite trailing by 16 points at the break, Denison came out of the locker room with the hot hand.  DU went on a 13-2 run in the opening four minutes of the period thanks to back-to-back 3-pointers by Bret Woolard and a third by Jon Akpapunam.  Now trailing by just nine points, OWU called a timeout to regroup.

The Battling Bishops would answer with a 9-0 run over the next two minutes, erasing all of the Big Red's momentum while taking control once again.

While Denison's offense improved in the second half, connecting on 44 percent of its field goals while going 8-of-18 from beyond the arc, OWU also heated up.  The home team connected on 53 percent of its shots over the final 20 minutes, and hit 10 3-pointers in the half.  For the game OWU was 15-of-30 from downtown while Denison finished 14-of-28 from beyond the arc.

Dimonde Hale paced DU with 15 points, 12 rebounds and five assists in 28 minutes.  Akpapunam followed with 14 points after going 4-of-7 from 3-point territory.  Bret Woolard added 11 points and four rebounds in 20 minutes off the bench. 

OWU got 17 points from Greg White off the bench while Taylor Rieger added 16 points.  Andy Winters scored seven points and added eight assists in 24 minutes.

The Big Red fall to 4-10 overall and 2-3 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while Ohio Wesleyan improves to 12-1 and 5-0 in conference play while running its winning streak to nine games.  DU is back in action on Saturday when they host Wittenberg University at 3 p.m.

Season comes to an end at OWU
February 19, 2013 Season comes to an end at OWU
Late run sends OWU past DU
February 16, 2013 Late run sends OWU past DU
Lords protect home court
February 13, 2013 Lords protect home court
Rocky start trips up Big Red
February 6, 2013 Rocky start trips up Big Red
Longi honored by the NCAC
January 28, 2013 Longi honored by the NCAC
Cap pulls away from Big Red
January 3, 2013 Cap pulls away from Big Red
Aggies edge Big Red in D.C.
December 30, 2012 Aggies edge Big Red in D.C.
Big Red edges rival Kenyon
December 11, 2012 Big Red edges rival Kenyon
Big Red rolls past Terriers
November 28, 2012 Big Red rolls past Terriers
Case pulls away from Big Red
November 20, 2012 Case pulls away from Big Red
Denison dominates Quakers
November 17, 2012 Denison dominates Quakers
Hale's big night sinks W&J
November 15, 2012 Hale's big night sinks W&J