No Event
No Event
No Event
Tue Nov 15
Final
84 Washington & Jefferson
96 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
Final
85 Denison
73 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
Final
75 Case Western Reserve
85 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
Final
66 Denison
59 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
Final
65 Denison
59 at #11 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
58 Kenyon
67 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
6:00 PM
Denison
at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
6:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Second-half surge sinks Denison

Bret Woolard scored 11 points in Wednesday's loss at Marietta.
Bret Woolard scored 11 points in Wednesday's loss at Marietta.

Marietta College scored 52 points and shot 63 percent from the field in the second half en route to an 89-66 win over Denison on Wednesday evening.

Trailing 53-51 with 14:26 left in regulation, the Pioneer offense caught fire with a 27-7 run that resulted in an 18-point lead with less than five minutes to go.  Ahead 64-55, J.J. Martin scored five-straight points to give the Pioneers a double-digit lead.  Matt Napier capped off the offensive outburst with a triple that put the home squad up 78-60.

In the second period, Marietta converted on 22 of 35 attempts, including a 5-for-11 performance from three-point land.  They also pulled down 22 rebounds and recorded 24 points in the paint.

Denison jumped out to an early lead in the first period, gaining a 24-14 advantage midway through the half on a Briggs King three.  The Pioneers slowly shrunk the deficit, eventually taking a 33-32 advantage with 4:35 on the clock. Tied at 35-35, sophomore Bret Woolard converted an old-fashioned three-point play to put DU back on top with less than three minutes to play.  However, a Napier jumper made it a one-point game at the break.

Marietta shot 57 percent (37-for-65) on the night, while Denison converted 44 percent (24-for-54) from the floor.  The Pioneers held the advantage in rebounding (38-25), bench points (47-22) and points in the paint (38-26).

Senior Dimonde Hale paced the Big Red with 13 points, while Woolard scored 11 points and grabbed four rebounds.  The sophomore was 4-for-7 from the field, including a 2-for-4 performance from long distance.  King also grabbed a team-best five rebounds.

Martin shot 11-for-16 from the field en route to scoring a game-high 29 points.  Napier recorded a double-double off the bench with 13 points and 11 rebounds, while Garrett Stephenson chipped in 14 tallies.

Denison falls to 3-4, while the Pioneers improve to 4-2 on the year.  The Big Red resumes North Coast Athletic Conference play on Monday at Oberlin.  Tip-off is slated for 8 p.m.

Season comes to an end at OWU
February 19, 2013 Season comes to an end at OWU
Late run sends OWU past DU
February 16, 2013 Late run sends OWU past DU
Lords protect home court
February 13, 2013 Lords protect home court
Rocky start trips up Big Red
February 6, 2013 Rocky start trips up Big Red
Longi honored by the NCAC
January 28, 2013 Longi honored by the NCAC
Cap pulls away from Big Red
January 3, 2013 Cap pulls away from Big Red
Aggies edge Big Red in D.C.
December 30, 2012 Aggies edge Big Red in D.C.
Big Red edges rival Kenyon
December 11, 2012 Big Red edges rival Kenyon
Big Red rolls past Terriers
November 28, 2012 Big Red rolls past Terriers
Case pulls away from Big Red
November 20, 2012 Case pulls away from Big Red
Denison dominates Quakers
November 17, 2012 Denison dominates Quakers
Hale's big night sinks W&J
November 15, 2012 Hale's big night sinks W&J