No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Transylvania
2 Denison
in Danville, Ky.
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
2 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 09
Final
4 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 Washington and Lee
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Sep 15
Final
0 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 21
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final - OT
3 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Sep 27
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 30
Final
0 Rhodes
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final - OT
2 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 10
Final
1 Wooster
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
Final
10 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wittenberg
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
Final
0 Earlham
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
0 Kenyon
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final
0 DePauw
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 04
Final
1 Wittenberg
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed Nov 08
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va. - NCAA Tournament
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red topple Yeowomen for ninth-straight win

Lucy Pearsall  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lucy Pearsall | Photo by Jace Delgado

OBERLIN, Ohio – Thanks to multiple goals from Charlotte Happel and Lucy Pearsall, Denison field hockey pushed its winning streak to nine on Friday afternoon, defeating Oberlin College 10-0 at the Knowlton Complex.

Outshooting Oberlin 12-0 in the first half, the Big Red capitalized twice in the first 10 minutes of play when freshmen Abby Scully and Charlotte Godfrey found the back of the cage for their first and fifth goals of the season, respectively. In the 15th minute, Pearsall recorded her second assist of the day when she obtained possession off a penalty corner and found Happel to give DU an early 3-0 lead.

Pearsall joined Denison's scoring party in the 23rd minute when she took an unassisted shot for her second goal of the season. The Big Red took a 4-0 advantage into intermission.

Opening the second half, Happel completed her hattrick for DU with back-to-back goals in the 38th and 39th minutes, just 35 seconds apart. Denison made it a 7-0 contest in the 49th minute when senior Emily Marlatt's shot was saved by Oberlin's goalkeeper Kennedy Kline, but Pearsall accepted possession off the rebound and finished it past the keeper for her second goal of the day.

Just over a minute later, Sophie Boyle sent a cross in front of the cage where Alyssa Bahel completed the play for her sixth goal of the season and to give Denison an 8-0 lead. Freshman Lauren Lazo and senior Melissa Hoey added goals in the 58th and 68th minutes, respectively, as the Big Red secured their ninth-straight victory, 10-0.

Denison's freshman keeper Teya Adams recorded her fourth shutout of the season, totaling two saves in 70 minutes of action. For Oberlin, Kline pitched in eight saves during her full match effort.

The Big Red outshot the Yeowomen 26-2 and won the penalty corner battle with a 13-1 advantage. Happel led all scorers with three goals on the day, while Pearsall added three assists to her two-goal performance. Senior Jane Higley's four total shots taken were a match-best, and Godfrey tied Pearsall and Happel for a match-lead with three shots on goal.

Denison's 10-goal outing was the most goals scored in a match for the Big Red since Oct. 11, 2012, when they defeated Bethany College, 10-0.

DU will return to Deeds Field-Piper Stadium next Thursday, Oct. 19 as they play host to Ohio Wesleyan University for a 4:30 p.m. start.

Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT
September 13, 2017 Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT