No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Transylvania
2 Denison
in Danville, Ky.
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
2 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 09
Final
4 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 Washington and Lee
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Sep 15
Final
0 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 21
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final - OT
3 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Sep 27
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 30
Final
0 Rhodes
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final - OT
2 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 10
Final
1 Wooster
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
Final
10 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wittenberg
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
5:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
11:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Offensive outburst takes care of Oberlin

Alyssa Bahel  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alyssa Bahel | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Denison field hockey protected their home turf on Friday afternoon as they defeated Oberlin College 4-0 at Deeds Field-Piper Stadium.

Outshooting the Yeowomen 45-0, the Big Red took advantage of a three-goal performance from junior Alyssa Bahel to take the lead, while Ali Gakenheimer and Michelle Kabaira turned in strong defensive efforts to secure the victory.

Bahel's first two goals occurred in the 14th and 15th minutes of the match. Her first goal came off of a pass from senior Emily Marlatt as Bahel tipped it into the back of the cage. A beautiful cross from Lucy Pearsall allowed Bahel to capitalize on her second goal.

Owning a 2-0 lead at intermission, Bahel secured her hat trick in the 39th minute while sophomore Charlotte Happel secured a loose ball and scored from 13-yards away in the 47th minute to take a 4-0 advantage. Freshman Charlotte Godfrey led all players with 11 shots taken, while Bahel led the contest with seven shots on goal.

Freshman goalkeeper Teya Adams earned her first shutout of the season in a full 70 minutes of play for the Big Red, while Oberlin's junior keeper Kennedy Kline totaled 22 saves in a full match effort.

This marked the second time this season that the Big Red has held their opponents without a shot attempt.  The first came last Sunday (Sept. 10) in Denison's 2-0 win over Washington and Lee.  For the season, Denison is outshooting its opponents 130-44.

Denison will return to action next Thursday, September 21 as they head to Delaware, Ohio to take on Ohio Wesleyan University for a 4:30 p.m. start.