No Event
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Transylvania
2 Denison
in Danville, Ky.
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
2 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 09
Final
4 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 Washington and Lee
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Sep 15
Final
0 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 21
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final - OT
3 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Sep 27
4:30 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 30
11:00 AM
Rhodes
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 10
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
4:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
5:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
11:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT

Jen Durbin  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Jen Durbin | Photo by Brett Dunbar

WOOSTER, Ohio--  Wooster's Kristina Miesel scored the game-winning goal five minutes into the second overtime.  That propelled the Fighting Scots to a 1-0 victory over the Denison Big Red from John P. Papp Stadium.

Throughout much of the season the Big Red has been the aggressor on offense, typically holding a distinct advantage in shots attempted and penalty corners.  The problem has been finishing and Wednesday was no different.  Denison outshot Wooster 27-7 and held an 8-1 advantage in shots in the two overtime periods. Despite winning the stat sheet, with just over nine minutes to play in the second OT, Wooster's Harriet Sudduth crossed the ball to a waiting Miesel who was stationed at the left corner of the cage for the re-direct.

In addition to her assist on the game-winning goal, Sudduth also finished with one defensive save in the first half on a shot by Denison's Charlotte Happel.

Five different players paced the Big Red with four shots apiece.  Abby Scully led the team with three shots on goal.  Kerry Lawler played all 90:12 and finished with two saves.  Wooster's first-year goalie, Katie Shideler, was outstanding.  She posted a career-high 17 saves while playing all 90:12.

Denison drops to 2-3 and 0-2 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while Wooster improves to 4-1 and 2-0 in conference play.  The Big Red will host Oberlin College this Friday, Sept. 15, at 4:30 p.m. at Piper Stadium.