Sat Sep 03
12:00 PM
Denison
at Rhodes
in Memphis, Tenn.
Sun Sep 04
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Hendrix
@ Rhodes in Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Sep 10
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 13
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 16
4:30 PM
Eastern Mennonite
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 17
11:00 AM
Concordia (Wis.)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 20
4:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
5:00 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Thu Sep 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 01
12:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 05
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 13
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 15
11:00 AM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 22
11:00 AM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 23
12:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 29
12:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison shuts down Wittenberg

Lizzy Pellicane scored the game winner in the 16th minute at Wittenberg.
Lizzy Pellicane scored the game winner in the 16th minute at Wittenberg.

Denison rebounded from its first loss of the season with a dominating 4-0 victory over Wittenberg on Wednesday afternoon in Springfield, Ohio.

The Big Red gained the advantage in the 16th minute when sophomore Lizzy Pellicane scored her third goal of the season to give the visiting team a 1-0 lead.  After tallying the initial score, the Denison offense unloaded 15 more shots at the Tiger net over the final 20 minutes of the opening period.  However, only two of those shots forced Wittenberg goalie Sarah Brownell to make a save.

It remained a one-goal game until the 42nd minute when junior Molly Chapman knocked in her first goal of the season. Senior Taylor Bacon quickly followed in the 48th minute to give DU a 3-0 advantage.  Denison secured the victory in the 62nd minute when first-year Abby Martone scored her first-collegiate goal off an assist from Kate Hackett.

Denison dominated Wittenberg in the shot category, 33-5, and attempted 17 penalty corners to the Tigers two.  Chapman paced the offense with eight shots and a goal, while seniors Katie McMahon and Alex B. Berman logged six and five attempts, respectively.  Senior goalie Laura Campbell finished two saves, while Brownell made 12 stops in cage.

DU improves to 5-1 overall and 3-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference, while the Tigers fall to 3-4 and 2-1 in league play.  The Big Red returns to action next Wednesday (Sept. 25) when they make their 2013 home debut against Wooster. Game time is slated for 4:30 p.m.