No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
Final
0 Eastern Mennonite
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 17
Final
0 Concordia (Wis.)
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 20
Final
3 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
Final
8 Denison
1 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
Final
1 Denison
2 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Thu Sep 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 01
12:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 05
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 13
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 15
11:00 AM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 22
11:00 AM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 23
12:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 29
12:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU drops Bishops in OT

Karla Dixon helped DU to its third shutout win of the season.
Karla Dixon helped DU to its third shutout win of the season.

Catie Merrick broke a scoreless tie 1:12 into the first overtime, propelling Denison past Ohio Wesleyan, 1-0, from Piper Stadium in Granville.

After a flurry of action from the Big Red offense late in the second half, it didn't take DU long to put away the Battling Bishops in overtime.  In the 72nd minute of play, DU advanced the ball into the circle and that's when first-year Kate Hackett threaded a perfect pass to the backside of Merrick's stick.  She quickly settled the ball and sent a shot screaming into the back of the cage for the game-winner.

Slipping a shot past Ohio Wesleyan goalie Karson Stevenson proved to be a difficult chore for Denison all afternoon.  The first-year posted five of her eight saves in the second half.  In fact, all five of those saves came in the last 12 minutes of regulation.

Down the stretch, DU put the pressure on the Bishops, attempting eight shots in the closing minutes of the period.

DU attempted 17 shots while Ohio Wesleyan took seven.  Merrick led all players with seven shots. Her goal was her 13th of the season, which ranks her third in the North Coast Athletic Conference in that category.  Katie McMahon and Taylor Bacon both finished with three shots apiece.  DU goalie Brittany Benson recorded four saves with two coming in each half of regulation.

The penalty corner battle was also won by Denison, 8-5.  The Big Red will return to action on Thursday night when they host Bethany in a non-league match beginning at 7:30 p.m.