Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Oct 10
Final
1 Wooster
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
Final
10 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wittenberg
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
Final
0 Earlham
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
0 Kenyon
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final
0 DePauw
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 04
Final
1 Wittenberg
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed Nov 08
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va. - NCAA Tournament
Sat Sep 01
12:00 PM
Centre
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 05
5:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Sep 08
12:00 PM
Denison
at Roanoke
in Roanoke, Va.
Sun Sep 09
1:00 PM
Denison
at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Thu Sep 13
5:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Sep 18
5:00 PM
Wash. & Jeff.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 20
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

DU drops Bishops in OT

Karla Dixon helped DU to its third shutout win of the season.
Karla Dixon helped DU to its third shutout win of the season.

Catie Merrick broke a scoreless tie 1:12 into the first overtime, propelling Denison past Ohio Wesleyan, 1-0, from Piper Stadium in Granville.

After a flurry of action from the Big Red offense late in the second half, it didn't take DU long to put away the Battling Bishops in overtime.  In the 72nd minute of play, DU advanced the ball into the circle and that's when first-year Kate Hackett threaded a perfect pass to the backside of Merrick's stick.  She quickly settled the ball and sent a shot screaming into the back of the cage for the game-winner.

Slipping a shot past Ohio Wesleyan goalie Karson Stevenson proved to be a difficult chore for Denison all afternoon.  The first-year posted five of her eight saves in the second half.  In fact, all five of those saves came in the last 12 minutes of regulation.

Down the stretch, DU put the pressure on the Bishops, attempting eight shots in the closing minutes of the period.

DU attempted 17 shots while Ohio Wesleyan took seven.  Merrick led all players with seven shots. Her goal was her 13th of the season, which ranks her third in the North Coast Athletic Conference in that category.  Katie McMahon and Taylor Bacon both finished with three shots apiece.  DU goalie Brittany Benson recorded four saves with two coming in each half of regulation.

The penalty corner battle was also won by Denison, 8-5.  The Big Red will return to action on Thursday night when they host Bethany in a non-league match beginning at 7:30 p.m.