Sat Sep 03
12:00 PM
Denison
at Rhodes
in Memphis, Tenn.
Sun Sep 04
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Hendrix
@ Rhodes in Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Sep 10
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 13
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 16
4:30 PM
Eastern Mennonite
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 17
11:00 AM
Concordia (Wis.)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 20
4:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
5:00 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Thu Sep 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 01
12:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 05
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 13
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 15
11:00 AM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 22
11:00 AM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 23
12:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 29
12:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red wins sixth straight

Kelsey Flowers and the Big Red defense shut out rival Kenyon.
Kelsey Flowers and the Big Red defense shut out rival Kenyon.

Denison posted their 11th shutout of the season following a 4-0 victory over Kenyon College in North Coast Athletic Conference action on Tuesday in Gambier, Ohio.  With the win, DU improves to 15-1 overall and 12-1 in the NCAC.

The Big Red controlled the offense for the first 35 minutes of action, outshooting the Ladies 7-1 in the first period.  After ringing two shots off the post, Denison scored on three-straight shots spanning five minutes and 26 seconds.  Junior Hilary Zdanowski scored her seventh goal of the season at 15:15.  In the 19th minute, the Big Red doubled their lead when Katie McMahon found Catie Merrick.  The game's second score marked the ninth time the Denison duo teamed up for a score.  McMahon tacked on another insurance goal at 20:41 to give DU a three-goal advantage at the break.

In the second half, Merrick knocked in her 12th goal of the season in the 56th minute of play.  The junior's two-score outing was her 13th career multiple-goal game.

DU outshot Kenyon 10-2, including a 6-0 advantage in shots on goal.  The Big Red also attempted two penalty corners compared to just one by the Ladies.  Reigning NCAC Player of the Week Brittany Benson, who entered the week ranked third in the nation in goals-against average and fourth in save percentage, picked up her eighth shutout of the season, while Kenyon's Alex Britt made two saves.

Denison remains one game behind DePauw in the league standings.  The top two teams in the conference will take the field on Saturday with the NCAC regular season championship and the top seed in next week's conference tournament on the line.  Goals will be at a premium in Granville when the two squads that lead the nation in shutouts per game (DePauw – 0.69; Denison – 0.67) take the field at 11 a.m.

McMahon named All-American
November 28, 2011 McMahon named All-American
Big Red wins sixth straight
October 25, 2011 Big Red wins sixth straight
Benson earns NCAC POW honors
October 24, 2011 Benson earns NCAC POW honors
DU sweeps series with OWU
October 22, 2011 DU sweeps series with OWU
Big Red sinks OWU for 7th win
September 23, 2011 Big Red sinks OWU for 7th win
Testani named NCAC POW
September 12, 2011 Testani named NCAC POW
Big Red blanks Wittenberg
September 3, 2011 Big Red blanks Wittenberg
2011 Field Hockey Preview
September 1, 2011 2011 Field Hockey Preview