Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Mar 03
Final
10 Denison
11 at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, VA in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
9 Denison
0 at Hampden-Sydney
in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
Final
5 Denison
1 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Mar 10
Final
3 Denison
0 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
Final
3 Capital
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
12 Adrian
9 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
0 Amherst
4 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
18 #6 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Mon Mar 19
Final
20 Denison
4 vs. #4 North Central (Ill.)
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
Final
7 Plymouth St.
5 vs. Denison
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
7 vs. #21 Johns Hopkins
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
12 vs. St. Lawrence
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
3 vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Postponed
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 28
Final
3 Otterbein
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
15 Denison
11 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final - 10 innings
6 Denison
7 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Thu Apr 05
Final
7 #25 Baldwin Wallace
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
5 Denison
3 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Wed Apr 11
Final
3 DePauw
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
9 DePauw
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Hiram
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
4 Hiram
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Postponed
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final - 10 innings
10 Denison
9 at #14 Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
Postponed
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
3 Kenyon
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
9 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Apr 26
7:00 PM
Marietta
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
4:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 02
12:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
3:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat May 05
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat May 05
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
No Event
View Full Schedule

Baseball cruises past Cardinals, 8-3

Jack Blanchard  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jack Blanchard | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Despite the weather causing a rain delay to start the game, Denison baseball defeated Otterbein University on Wednesday night, 8-3, at Big Red Field in Granville, Ohio.

Notching eight runs on seven hits for the game, the DU offense powered their way past the Cardinals, giving the Big Red pitchers room to work with.

Denison starter John Troll allowed two Otterbein runs in the first three innings of play, but Brian McAuliffe acted as instant offense in the early innings, recording an RBI double in the bottom of the second, and then tying the game at 2-2 in the bottom of the fourth with a sky-high solo home run to right center.

Following Troll's two runs on three hits with three strikeouts in four innings of work, freshman Taylor Perrett came in relief in the top of the fifth to sit the Cardinals down in order.

The Big Red immediately took the lead in the home half of the inning when Tanner Johnson blasted a home run over the left field wall to put DU in front, 3-2. The scoring didn't stop there as Jack Blanchard scored Sam Frazen and Grady Paine from second and third, respectively, on a two-RBI double down the left field line to increase the Denison lead to 5-2.

After Otterbein went to Ren Martin out of the bullpen, McAuliffe added his third RBI on the day with a single to second that scored Blanchard.

Three batters later with runners on first and second with two outs, senior Joseph Maydwell capped off a five-run fifth for the Big Red on an RBI single through the left side, scoring Vince Walker from second to take a 7-2 lead entering the sixth inning.

In the top of the sixth, Otterbein's Connor Brett scored on a wild pitch after sending a one-out triple to right center to cut the Cardinal deficit to 7-3, but the combination of Perrett, Mikey Rivera, and Perley Provost held OU hitless over the final 3 2/3 innings of action to help the Big Red secure their tenth win of the season. Otterbein drops to 11-7 in 2018.

Finishing the night just a triple shy of the cycle, McAuliffe headlined the victory going 3-for-4 with three RBI's and one run scored. Blanchard ended his 1-for-3 performance with two runs batted in and Johnson went 1-for-4 with two runs scored.

The Big Red will kick off North Coast Athletic Conference action this Saturday, March 31, when they head to Springfield, Ohio for a doubleheader with Wittenberg University, set to begin at 12 p.m.