Sat Mar 04
Final
17 Denison
2 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
1 Manchester
14 vs. Denison
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
11 Denison
1 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
5 vs. Arcadia
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NPHS)
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
6 vs. Susquehanna
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #6)
Mon Mar 13
Final
2 Amherst
12 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Tue Mar 14
Final
5 SUNY-Canton
7 vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, FL in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 15
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Mount St. Mary
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Fri Mar 17
Final
10 Nichols
7 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Sat Mar 18
Final
2 #25 North Central (Ill.)
13 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Thu Mar 23
Final
1 John Carroll
14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 24
Final
11 Denison
3 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
8 Heidelberg
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 28
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final - 11 innings
1 Wabash
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Wabash
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final
2 Wabash
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final - 7 innings
0 Wabash
15 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
2 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
10 Oberlin
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
Cancelled
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
Final
3 #17 Denison
4 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 14
Final
6 #17 Denison
13 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
Final - 7 innings
5 #17 Denison
15 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
Final
14 #17 Denison
12 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 19
Final
19 #10 Wooster
3 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
8 #25 Denison
2 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final - 7 innings
2 Wittenberg
12 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
7 Wittenberg
3 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
Final - 7 innings
7 Wittenberg
20 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
Final
3 Wittenberg
9 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
Final
9 #27 Denison
1 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
1 #27 Denison
9 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
11 #27 Denison
10 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 #27 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
Final
22 #27 Denison
10 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat May 06
Final
2 Allegheny
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Crossover Series
Sun May 07
Final
7 Allegheny
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Crossover Series
Sun May 07
Final - 11 innings
8 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Crossover Series
Thu May 11
Final
2 Denison
10 vs. Wooster
@ VA Memorial Stadium -- Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 12
Final
6 Denison
12 vs. Oberlin
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU completes 3-game sweep of Manchester

Tucker Davison | Photo by Jason Miller
Tucker Davison | Photo by Jason Miller

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio -- The Big Red completed a three-game sweep of Manchester University after taking both games of Sunday's doubleheader at VA Memorial Stadium. Denison took the opener 14-1 before wrapping up the sweep with an 11-1 victory in the nightcap.

In the opener, senior Tucker Davison opened the scoring with a one-out solo homer to left in the second. After an Evan Flax singles and walks to Sam Frazen and Vince Walker, junior Tanner Johnson delivered a two-run single to left that gave Denison the early 3-0 lead. The Big Red added two more in the fourth and scored three in the fifth before blowing the game open with a six-run sixth inning. Johnson belted a two-run double to right center to close off the offensive output. The Spartans' run came in the top of the ninth on a base hit by Nathen Swafford.

Zack Huarte improved to 1-0 on the year after toss six scoreless innings of three-hit baseball. The junior hurler fanned seven batters without issuing a free pass. Sophomore Danny Brackman earned the save after scattering four hits and surrendering one run with six Ks in the final three frames.

In game two, Jack Blanchard and Noah Hahn singled in runs to give DU a 2-0 lead after a half inning. Blanchard's base hit scored Johnson, while Hahn knocked in Blanchard. Johnson drew a bases-loaded walk to push the lead to 3-0 in the fourth before a ground out by Nick Rush allowed Chad Schultz to score in the fifth. In the top of the sixth, Denison pushed across four runs highlighted by a two-run single up the middle by Eric Zmuda. The Big Red scored two more runs in both the seventh and eighth frames to set the final score.

Junior Cody Mauri earned his second-career victory after giving up one run on three hits in five innings of work. Mauri struck out one and walked one in the winning effort. Mikey Rivera tossed three hitless innings in relief with two strikeouts, while senior Connor Hanrahan allowed one hit in the final frame.

The offensive was on fire all weekend as Denison combined to outscore Manchester 42-4 over the course of three games. Flax finished the doubleheader 5-for-8 with seven runs, three runs batted in and three stolen bases. Hahn and Davison both logged four hits and two runs. Hahn had a double and two RBIs, while Davison hit his second-career homer. Johnson drove in a team-high five RBIs on Sunday.

Denison improves to 3-0, while the Spartans fall to 0-3. The Big Red will be back in action on Sunday, March 12 when they kick off their spring break trip in Port Charlotte, Fla against Arcadia at 10 a.m. That game will be followed by a 3 p.m. contest against Susquehanna.