Sat Mar 04
Final
17 Denison
2 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
1 Manchester
14 vs. Denison
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
11 Denison
1 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
5 vs. Arcadia
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NPHS)
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
6 vs. Susquehanna
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #6)
Mon Mar 13
Final
2 Amherst
12 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Tue Mar 14
Final
5 SUNY-Canton
7 vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, FL in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 15
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Mount St. Mary
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Fri Mar 17
Final
10 Nichols
7 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Sat Mar 18
Final
2 #25 North Central (Ill.)
13 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Thu Mar 23
Final
1 John Carroll
14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 24
Final
11 Denison
3 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
8 Heidelberg
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 28
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
12:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
12:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 04
4:00 PM
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
12:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
1:00 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 14
3:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
3:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 19
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
4:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
12:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
12:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU caps off season at NCAC Tournament

Duncan Moran (18) and Danny Kraus (31) tip caps against Oberlin. The duo combined for 5 hits in the 12-inning loss to the Yeomen.
Duncan Moran (18) and Danny Kraus (31) tip caps against Oberlin. The duo combined for 5 hits in the 12-inning loss to the Yeomen.

The Denison baseball team closed out their season with a 6-5 extra-inning setback to Oberlin on Thursday at the 2013 North Coast Athletic Conference Baseball Tournament in Chillicothe, Ohio.

Trailing 5-3 in the ninth, Oberlin got the leadoff runner on after a third-strike pitch reached the backstop.  After a fielding error and a free pass loaded the bases, a single through the right side scored Robin Witjes and Mattie DeDoes to tie the game and force extra innings.

After a scoreless 10th and 11th, the Yeomen stepped to the plate in the 12th looking to complete the come-from-behind win.  Jeff Schweighoffer got things going with a one-out single up the middle.  With two on and two down, Witjes delivered a base hit to left center that knocked in the game-winning run.

Seniors Danny Kraus and Lowell Hall paced the Denison offense with three hits, a run and an RBI each.  Senior Kyle Clemmenson, sophomore Nick Marsit and freshman Duncan Moran each logged a pair of hits, while Marsit and Moran also drove in and scored a run.

Senior reliever Philip Seay took the hard-luck loss after tossing 3.1 strong innings out of the pen.  Seay scattered three hits and struck out three in 3.1 frames.  Starter Connor Murphy got the no decision after allowing two earned runs on four hits with six Ks through eight frames.

The Big Red closed out the season with a 25-16 mark.  Their 25 wins are the third-most in program history.  With the win, Oberlin advances to the second elimination game on Friday at 10 a.m.  The Yeomen will take on Allegheny, who dropped a 10-2 decision to Wooster in game three of the tournament.

Three named NCAC AOW
April 23, 2013 Three named NCAC AOW
Clippers for a Cause
November 10, 2012 Clippers for a Cause