Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Mar 03
3:00 PM
Denison
at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
11:00 AM
Denison
vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, Va. in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
3:00 PM
Denison
at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
4:00 PM
Capital
vs. Denison
@ Transylvania, Ky. in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
12:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Wed Mar 14
5:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
3:00 PM
Denison
vs. Adrian
@ Port Charlotte, Fla. Snowbird Collegiate Baseball Classic
Sun Mar 18
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Amherst
@ North Charlotte Park, Florida
Sun Mar 18
3:30 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic (Fort Myers, Fla.)
Fri Mar 23
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic (Fort Myers, Fla.)
Tue Mar 27
5:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Apr 04
1:30 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 04
4:30 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
12:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
In Meadville, Pa.
Sat Apr 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
In Meadville, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
4:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
Thu Apr 12
6:00 PM
Muskingum
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
12:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
3:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
1:00 PM
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Tue Apr 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Tue Apr 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
12:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 24
7:00 PM
Marietta
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
4:00 PM
Denison
at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
View Full Schedule

DU forces series split with DePauw

Andrew Touhy
Andrew Touhy went 4-for-7 with 3 RBIs on Sunday vs. DePauw.

An 8-2 victory in game two of Sunday's doubleheader at DePauw University took the sting out of a 4-3 extra-innings loss to the Tigers in the opener.  Denison got a tremendous pitching performance from Danny Kraus and Ian Walsh in the second game as the pair combined for a two-hitter.  The split moves DU's record to 7-8 overall and 2-2 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.

The Big Red's 8-2 win was powered by Andrew Touhy and Kyle Clemmenson who drove in three RBIs apiece.  After falling behind 1-0 in the bottom of the third inning, DU responded with a five-run fourth.  Touhy started things with a two-run double to right field that scored Jake Meegan and Lowell Hall.  Two batters later, Clemmenson would blast a three-run home run over the wall in left field.

DePauw would counter with a run via a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the fourth.  The game would remain 5-2 in favor of the Big Red until DU would plate three more insurance runs in the top of the seventh.

On the hill, Kraus got the start and pitched the first four innings, allowing two hits, two earned runs and four walks while striking out one.  Walsh relieved Kraus in the fifth inning and worked the final three innings to register his second save of the season.

Touhy was 3-for-5 with three RBIs and one run scored.  Ryan Loehnert and Clemmenson both went 2-for-4.

In game one, DePauw tied the game at 3-3 with a Cory Meixner base hit in the fifth inning.  In the bottom of the eighth, Meixner reached base via a wild pitch after striking out to lead off the inning.  Centerfielder Brendan Pashia laid down a sacrifice bunt, moving Meixner into scoring position and Paul Mpistolarides would follow with a game-winning RBI by singling to left field off DU reliever Philip Seay.

Ian Barry got the start for DU and pitched 4.1 innings.  He allowed two earned runs and struck out one.  Seay followed by pitching the final 3.1 innings.  Seay gave up four hits while striking out five.

Nick Marsit paced Denison at the plate, going 2-for-4.  Kraus and Ryan Mulligan each blasted their first home runs of the season.  Both were solo shots in the first and second inning, respectively.

Denison will return to action on Wednesday (April 3) with a 9-inning game at John Carroll at 4 p.m.  On Saturday (April 6) the Big Red will host a four-game weekend series against Wittenberg. 

Three named NCAC AOW
April 23, 2013 Three named NCAC AOW
Clippers for a Cause
November 10, 2012 Clippers for a Cause