Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Mar 03
3:00 PM
Denison
at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
11:00 AM
Denison
vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, Va. in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
3:00 PM
Denison
at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
4:00 PM
Capital
vs. Denison
@ Transylvania, Ky. in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
12:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Wed Mar 14
5:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
3:00 PM
Denison
vs. Adrian
@ Port Charlotte, Fla. Snowbird Collegiate Baseball Classic
Sun Mar 18
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Amherst
@ North Charlotte Park, Florida
Sun Mar 18
3:30 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic (Fort Myers, Fla.)
Thu Mar 22
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Johns Hopkins
@ Ft. Myers, Fla. - Terry Park 2
Fri Mar 23
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic (Fort Myers, Fla.)
Tue Mar 27
5:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Apr 04
1:30 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 04
4:30 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
12:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
In Meadville, Pa.
Sat Apr 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
In Meadville, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
4:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
Thu Apr 12
6:00 PM
Muskingum
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
12:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
3:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
1:00 PM
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Tue Apr 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Tue Apr 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
12:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 24
7:00 PM
Marietta
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
4:00 PM
Denison
at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
12:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red, Tigers split NCAC opener

Kyle Colgain
Kyle Colgain picked up his first win of the year in game two at DePauw.

After dropping the opening game 9-4, the Big Red baseball team earned a doubleheader split with DePauw following a 4-2 victory in game two on Saturday.

Sophomore hurler Kyle Colgain improved to 1-1 on the year after tossing 7.2 solid innings.  Colgain scattered eight hits, allowed one earned run and struck out four en route to the victory.  Ian Walsh closed the door for his first-collegiate save.  The rookie pitcher tossed 1.1 innings of one-hit ball in relief.

The Big Red used the long ball to jump out to a 1-0 lead when Georgie Montes hit his first-career home run with two down in the fifth.  Zach Galyean tied the game at 1-1 in the bottom of the inning with a base hit to center.  Denison regained the lead when a Kyle Clemmenson single to left scored Charlie Apfelbach from third.

DU doubled its score in the top of the seventh inning.  A walk and a hit by pitch put two Big Red runners on with one out.  After a wild pitch moved them both into scoring possession, Apfelbach hit a single to left that scored Jake Meegan from third.  Freshman Ryan Loehnert followed with a base hit through the left side that plated Danny Kraus.

The Tigers made it a two-run game in the eighth, but dominant pitching from Walsh out of the pen ended the DePauw rally.  Loehnert and Clemmenson both went 2-for-5 with an RBI.  Senior Lowell Hall also logged two hits and a stolen base, while Apfelbach and Montes each drove in and scored a run.

In game one, DePauw powered past Denison thanks to an eight-run fourth inning.  The Tigers' eight runs came off five hits and a pair of Big Red miscues.  Kraus logged a pair of hits, including a double, while Ryan Mulligan drove in two.  Sophomore Nick Marsit also scored twice.

Connor Murphy allowed nine runs (five earned) on seven hits in the losing effort, while Michael Chiaro picked up the victory after scattering six hits and surrendering four runs.

Both teams move to 6-7 on the year and 1-1 in North Coast Athletic Conference play.  The two squads close out their four-game series on Sunday in Greencastle, Ind.  Game one of the doubleheader is scheduled to begin at 12 p.m.

Three named NCAC AOW
April 23, 2013 Three named NCAC AOW
Clippers for a Cause
November 10, 2012 Clippers for a Cause