Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Mar 03
Final
10 Denison
11 at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, VA in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
9 Denison
0 at Hampden-Sydney
in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
Final
5 Denison
1 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Mar 10
Final
3 Denison
0 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
Final
3 Capital
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
12 Adrian
9 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
0 Amherst
4 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
18 #6 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Mon Mar 19
Final
20 Denison
4 vs. #4 North Central (Ill.)
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
Final
7 Plymouth St.
5 vs. Denison
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
7 vs. #21 Johns Hopkins
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
12 vs. St. Lawrence
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
3 vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Postponed
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 28
Final
3 Otterbein
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
15 Denison
11 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final - 10 innings
6 Denison
7 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Thu Apr 05
Final
7 #25 Baldwin Wallace
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
5 Denison
3 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Wed Apr 11
Final
3 DePauw
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
9 DePauw
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Hiram
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
4 Hiram
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final - 10 innings
10 Denison
9 at #14 Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
Postponed
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
3 Kenyon
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
9 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Apr 26
Final
4 #20 Marietta
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
4 #2 Wooster
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
2 #2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
Final
8 Denison
4 at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
6 Oberlin
18 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
9 Oberlin
10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat May 05
Final
4 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat May 05
Final
16 Denison
1 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sun May 06
Final
12 Denison
10 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Thu May 10
Final
4 Wabash
2 vs. Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
4 Kenyon
9 vs. #24 Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
2 #24 Denison
4 vs. #2 Wooster
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Thu May 17
Final
5 #11 Chris. Newport
1 vs. #24 Denison
@ Ting Park in Holly Springs, N.C. - NCAA South Regional
Fri May 18
Final
6 Randolph-Macon
1 vs. Denison
@ Holly Springs,NC NCAA South Regional
View Full Schedule

DU splits key NCAC twinbill with OWU

Tyler Vaske
Tyler Vaske went the distance en route to his first win of the season.

Denison split a key North Coast Athletic Conference doubleheader with rival Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday.  DU took the opener 5-1, but dropped game two 7-3.

The Big Red won game one behind a strong performance on the hill from senior Tyler Vaske.  Vaske tossed a complete-game five-hit shutout en route to his first victory of the season.  He surrendered just one earned run and struck out seven batters over the seven frames.

After the Bishops took a 1-0 lead in the fourth on a Nathan Strome sacrifice fly to right, the Denison offense gave Vaske all the run support he needed.  A two-base error to start the bottom of the frame came back to bite OWU.  Freshman Ryan Mulligan knocked in Charlie Apfelbach with a single to left field.  After Evan Nicholson drew a free pass, junior Danny Kraus drove in the game-winning run with a base hit to right center.

Nicholson added an insurance run when a fielding error by the catcher allowed the senior to score on a double steal attempt.  Rookie Kyle Colgain tacked on the fourth run of the inning with a base hit to right center that scored Kraus.  Denison plated another run in the fifth when a sacrifice bunt by Tim Duxbury scored senior Andrew Mahle from third base.

Mulligan went 2-for-3 with a run and an RBI in the opener, while Kraus and Colgain each posted RBI singles.

DU scored a run in the third and fourth innings to take a 2-0 lead in the nightcap.  Senior Justin Vaske crossed the dish in the third on a ground out by Apfelbach, while senior Drew Rice sent a base hit through the left side that scored Duxbury.

Despite the early lead, the Battling Bishops answered with a run in the sixth, and three more in the seventh and eighth frames to grab a 7-2 lead.  Vaske scored on a wild pitch to close the gap to four, but it was too little too late as OWU held on for the split.

Rice finished 2-for-3, while Nicholson and senior David Baskin posted a double and a triple, respectively.  Sophomore Connor Murphy suffered the loss after allowing four runs on 10 hits with five strikeouts in seven innings of work.

Both Denison (10-20-1) and Ohio Wesleyan (16-13) move into a three-way tie with Wabash for second place in the NCAC West Division.  All three squads are 4-6 in division play.  The Big Red looks to close out its four-game series with OWU on Monday.  Game one of the doubleheader is scheduled to begin at 3 p.m.

Note: Prior to game one of today's doubleheader Denison recognized seniors David Baskin, Kevin Bratcher, McCavitt Carter, Joro Forman, Chris Fries, Dave Holmes, Andrew Mahle, Evan Nicholson, Tyler Nicholson, Drew Rice, Hunter Sorensen, Justin Vaske and Tyler Vaske.

Crusaders outslug Denison
March 22, 2012 Crusaders outslug Denison
2012 Season Preview
March 1, 2012 2012 Season Preview
Skills Clinic set for Feb. 26
February 17, 2012 Skills Clinic set for Feb. 26