Men's and Women's Squash

Return to Club Sports Home

This year the men’s team has an opportunity to significantly improve our College Squash Association ranking from 35th place and we hope to return to the Top-24 in CSA rankings.  The 2014-15 match schedule is full and we will be competing against top teams including Stanford, Bucknell, George Washington, Navy and Wesleyan.   On the women’s side we are excited to begin our first full competitive season and it is our hope to establish the team as an up and coming team in the Midwest.   The women will be traveling to Charlottesville, Va. and Cincinnati, Ohio to participate in round-robin events. 

Denison is hosting the second annual Silver Tournament for juniors on Thanksgiving weekend. Last year, 48 players participated from all over the country. This has given our team and facility great exposure. Information for this event can be found on the US Squash site under Junior Tournaments (   


The Men’s Squash Club Team traveled to the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD on Friday November 14th to play against 5 other Varsity Teams incoluding Stanford Friday night, Navy, Bucknell and University of Virginia on the 14th and George Washington on the 15th. The team played tough squash all 3 days, coming very close to winning against their nearest competitors Bucknell (4-5). All the other teams hold stronger rankings by at least 6 places.  Denison players showed improved fitness from doing the Insanity program for the months of September and October, they showed stronger court shots from tighter rails and defined drop shots. Every match was a battle – there were 40 in all! The team is determined to get even stronger and to continue working towards challenging and wining against the better ranked teams over the course of the season.


Marshall Crane '15 and Andrew Krayachich '16

Head Coach

Walt Thieman (e-mail)

Assistant Coach

Jim Cowardin (e-mail)

For More Information:
Letter from Coach Thieman
Recruit Questionnaire
College Squash Association
Photo Gallery